top of page

Inspiration - Hello Kitty's Supercute Friendship Festival~!


I am, as I’m sure many of you are, fans of the popular Buzzfeed website and their videos on Youtube. I can spend hours browsing their site, and one day I came across an article all about the adorable and whimsical fashions at Sanario’s Hello Kitty's Supercute Friendship Festival! During this past summer, the festival toured the United States for the first time, and there’s still two more dates left! Their next venue will be the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas from August 14-16, and then they are headed to Phoenix from August 22-23 at the Gila River Arena. Unfortunately I did not get to attend this year, but it looks like tons of fun and full of cute! The festival includes live performances from Sanrio characters in the Hello Kitty world, interactive exhibits that really let you experience Hello Kitty’s world, photo opportunities with characters, lots of booths to buy merchandise, and more! You can find more information about the festival at Sanrio’s site. As for the Buzzfeed article (here), I have picked out some of my favorite photos to share with you from the festival and festival goers that inspire me to design some cute, Lolita style fashions! =^.^=

This mom and her two daughters are so adorable dressed like Hello Kitty! The fact that they are matching makes their look even more adorable! Of course this is one of Hello Kitty's iconic looks, but it's a great outfit that's bright and fun with the mixing of the bold red and blue. It's great inspiration that shows the colors of red, white, and blue are pleasing to the eye. The big bows and kitty ears top off the cute level!

The fans of Hello Kitty and her friends really went all out with sweet, pretty fashion for this festival! Is it bad that I would wear all of these outfits in everyday life? ^_~ I love all the details and accessories these ladies have added to sweeten up their looks! The woman in the red dress really pops against all the others in pastels, but all are perfect for this festival! And do I happen to spy the wonderful Miss Kika in the floral dress? She is my inspiration for all things kawaii, and I will definitely have some posts about her in the future!

Speaking of contrasting looks, these two festival goers strike the best balance between super sweet and hot gothic! I especially love the black lace on her dress, and the cute drinks pattern on the dress of the other fan! This gives me inspiration to make a sugar and spice collection, or combine an outfit with contrasting looks like the girly meets tough style! These ladies remind me of the characters of sweet Hello Kitty and darker but still cute Badtz-Maru! I think both looks are fashionably fun~

This attendee's bold, pastel purple hair is not only perfect for the cute world of Hello Kitty, but it's also on trend in everyday life as well! Her dress is more simple than the others above, but it's still adorable with the cartoon detials of the bow and characters! I love printed tattoo tights, and these are so perfect! Bows seem to be the "it" accessory at this event, which makes sense as Hello Kitty always rocks a bow herself! I think this beautiful lady nailed a great mix of elegant and kawaii~

Now this is what I call a relationship goal! This couple is just simply pastel perfection! Her bubblegum pink hair is another pastel hair color that is very on trend, and her shoes are crazy cool (though how did she walk? lol)! Hello Kitty inspired fashion is not just for the girls, as this adorably dapper man shows! The pastel jacket paired with the bowtie looks great and fashionable!

This dress is one of my favorites! It's a bit hard to see here, but her dress is covered with Hello Kitty faces! I love the light pink, white, and light bright blue she put together! This combination looks so good together, and inspires me to use them in as a color story for a collection or outfit design! This look with the Hello Kitty pattern and bow work so well for the festival, but the shape is also a bit like a romantic, pretty Lolita! The ruffle socks and tiara are perfect additions!

These fans show their love for some of the other characters in the Hello Kitty world, and they look like the came straight out of that world! The characters seen here are Gudetama- a newer lazy egg character (yellow), and Chococat (black)! The fan in the Gudetama outfit seems to also be inspired by Lolita styles as well, with a beautiful ruffled layer skirt, cute headpiece, and a Lolita style bib collar! I really love the Chococat fan's socks with cute 3D cartoon animals! These looks are both adorable and sweet!

This look comes from the awesome fashion displayed at the event! This Badtz-Maru dress is runway ready with the use of stylish feather details, and a sparkly Badtz-Maru face on the bodice! This fancy dress is both Hello Kitty adorable, as well as high fashion fancy! It's a really cool piece that steps up and gives a whole new name to the little black dress!

These ladies are all decked out in Hello Kitty merchandise, and I love it! While one has the perfect Hello Kitty bow, the other has cute kitty ears! I love the woman's blue shirt dress that looks like it mixes Hello Kitty and The Simpsons in a Hello Kitty cartoon style! Everything from their purses, to dresses, and even phone case shows what adorable super fans they are!

The look from this fan is more casual in style, but is still Hello Kitty fashionable! This is another one of my favorite looks, I love the hood with the Hello Kitty bow and platform sneakers! Also, how adorable are her pockets? The print on the dress makes them look like they are filled with Hello Kitty goodies! I seriously want to own this dress! ^.^

These fans are as fierce as they are adorable! While one rocks a girly, pastel dress, the other plays up a cute school girl vibe! I love this pastel princess' floral headpiece and cameo necklace! The school girl has amazing platform shoes, and a Hello Kitty crop top that would look just as fashionable in everyday life!

These looks are so much fun! This event is a perfect place to wear a furry kitty ears hat and kitty paws! She looks so uniquely cool with her bright red hair, Hello Kitty meets the Simpsons shirt dress, and rainbow tights! I just love this outfit! The other fan's dress is just as adorable and is more sweet! The quilt-like squares all patched together in pretty pink, gray, and black make for one cute dress! With their fantastic outfits, I'm sure they got asked for many pictures!

Now saving the best for last is this spectacular Hello Kitty doll dress! Seriously this dress is made from Hello Kitty plushes, crazy adorable! It's a Hello Kitty fan's dream! This was also one of the fashion displayed at the festival, and must have caught everyone's attention! This is so cool, and almost looks like some crazy couture fashion! I like the added accessories of the oversized floppy bows as well! This dress is just perfect!

Sorry this post is so long, but there were so many amazing, cute fashions from the Hello Kitty's Supercute Friendship Festival, and now I feel like I have to go draw some kawaii (and maybe a bit crazy!) garments! Which outfit was your favorite? Did you attend one of the Hello Kitty's Supercute Friendship Festivals? If you did, let me know your experiences and what you wore! Hello Kitty is love. =^.^=

xoxo~ Ashley

Welcome! I'm Ashley~ 

Learn more about the creator, me here...

Click on my name or artist/song title above to open my Soundcloud playlist for all tracks!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page