top of page

College Hills Mall Bloomington, IL - Dress Barn


Dress Barn had many windows to attract customers, and I think that while there were no backdrops to stop the distraction from the actual store activity, it made the store open, bright, and I got the feeling of the company being transparent (Does that make sense?). I put these two windows in one post, because they have the same feel and theme. While walking by looking and taking pictures of Dress Barn's windows, my first thought when seeing these two posters were "What? Why is there sheep and a chicken? How does that makes sense? Why would they do that?" I was full of confusion and didn't get their message. Looking back at these photos now, I think I have an understanding of what the company was trying to get across, and it's pretty unique and creative. I'm not certain that this is the actual message, but what I took away from this is that they are called Dress Barn, so many think of a farm barn with farm animals- a rustic, country feel. This is why those animals are there, they are farm animals that one thinks of with (Dress) barns. The women are in elegant, current styles, and the posters read "Think you know Dress Barn? Think again." and "Dress Barn. It's our name. Deal with it." This shows that while many make think of Dress Barn as being this country style store based on the name alone, and not one with trendy, more high fashion products, it is that and one should shop there to be in fashion. This ad campaign is mixing these two opposite elements (country style barn animals with high fashion models in beautiful clothing) to give stunning, stand out contrast. Maybe you should give Dress Barn a try to get the latest styles, because it's not this old style, country store like you think. Get it? :) Anyways, onto the actual properties of the window. There aren't many products in the displays themselves, but I think with such interesting posters and the fact that store is open, it is alright not to have this immediate action style. This is one of those times where less is better, because of the fact that the windows all show the store activity and products behind. Balance is executed well because of the window shape and size, the posters match it well to not stunt the window. Emphasis is drawn right to the contrast in the posters farm animals and fancy styles. One's eye then travels to the store itself to see all the products, and there's so much! This is great rhythm because it promotes immediate action without having it all in one display, the store sells itself! Once I figured out the displays theme, I love these windows! I'm impressed Dress Barn...clever...clever indeed.

xoxo~ Ashley

Welcome! I'm Ashley~ 

Learn more about the creator, me here...

Click on my name or artist/song title above to open my Soundcloud playlist for all tracks!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page