top of page

College Hills Normal, IL - Francesca's


Francesca's is a small, cute boutique at the College Hills outlet mall. I have actually never been in the store before, but I think after analyzing their windows I would like to check it out! I found this window really interesting because the majority of it is actually a rack inside the store for people to shop at. Then on top of the rack, they put the majority of the dress forms facing the window. I just can't decide how I feel about this window display. Good? Bad? Eye-catching? Brings business? On one hand, I think it's a cool idea for passerbys to see people actually shopping in the store right there in the window! However, I think it's a little weird for the people inside the store to look up and see the back of dress forms and the products on them. So with that, I guess this window has both its pros and cons. I do like that Francesca's styled the dress forms, even though they are small, I like when stores do this so people can fully visualize an outfit; how the product would really look. I also like that the forms are placed just right so they are not blocked by the panes, that's refreshing to see as I noticed a lot of stores don't pay attention to this small detail! The rhythm works just fine because the forms and accessory forms are all in a straight line, so it's nothing extraordinary..but one's eye can flow easily. It could be said that they balance is very bottom heavy, but it's hard to critize since it is a shopping rack that has its purpose inside the store. However, I think maybe some decoration at the top- whether it is something on the rack, hanging decorations, or window stick ons- might balance the window better. I would think they would have to be something small and elegant though, because of how small the top area of the window is. Overall while this window intrigues me, I'm not sure how effective it is on bringing in customers.

xoxo~ Ashley

Welcome! I'm Ashley~ 

Learn more about the creator, me here...

Click on my name or artist/song title above to open my Soundcloud playlist for all tracks!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page