top of page

Eastland Mall Bloomington, IL - Buckle


Oh this window is a mess! Buckle tried to fit too many products within a small window, and that is a crucial mistake in visual merchandising...keep it simple!

This window is so overcrowded that one's eye can not focus, losing both rhythm and emphasis. When I observed this window, my eyes jumped all over the place and I couldn't fully interpret or decide if I really liked the products. This means that I might not come in to shop if I can't take in the merchandise in the window, and decide if it is something I am interested in! There is absolutely no focal point, and products on forms are even hidden behind other forms. I like the idea of having a small shelf holding accessories, they are lifted off the ground and can bring in more customers, but Buckle should have only had one or two forms then the accessory shelf for all the products to be effective. The balance is also thrown off by all the dress forms. The window becomes very bottom heavy, and the poster in the background goes completely unnoticed. The poster or image is important to a window to draw the customer in, and show the product in "real life" or "in action". The customer gets a feel for the product, how it would work in their lifestyle, and who they could be if they purchased and wore the product. It's like a fantasy to visualize the product on themselves, so the fact that the poster is unnoticed does not help business at all and could even hurt it. While decoration in a window is not always necessary, signage most of the time is, or at least a huge benefit for the window display. There is no signage whatsoever in this window, not even the store name! There is too much product, and not enough crucial details in Buckle's window. Tsk tsk...

xoxo~ Ashley

Welcome! I'm Ashley~ 

Learn more about the creator, me here...

Click on my name or artist/song title above to open my Soundcloud playlist for all tracks!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page