top of page

College Hills Bloomington, IL - Dress Barn


I love that Dress Barn utilizes this window to tell passerbys of trends that are available in the store. This display makes customers feel that they need to purchase these items to be in style and attractive. I really like the idea of the "Dress of the Week". This is an interesting and unique way to display merchandise, while also including signage and marketing! The backdrop border makes it feel like the left display's dress is part of the poster, but because it's on the dress form, it gives this really cool 3D effect and feel. The other poster on the right says, "Richly-hued prints are so right now", which tells the customer that Dress Barn is up to date on fashion, trendy, and customers should shop here. This window is simple with the just the two posters and dress form, but I think the asymmetrical balance works well. If there were two dress forms on either side, it would be too distracting since the left form has that 3D effect combined with the poster. Both sides would be competing for attention. In their display, the emphasis is on the left side, and once you take in that cool effect and display, your eyes can easily move to the other side of the pane to just the poster. Again, I think that the left display has the spotlight, so adding in more decorations and props would be too distracting. Something small like lights might work, but I think this window is simply perfect! :)

xoxo~ Ashley

Welcome! I'm Ashley~ 

Learn more about the creator, me here...

Click on my name or artist/song title above to open my Soundcloud playlist for all tracks!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page