top of page

Ashley Recommends- January 2016 K-Music Releases

I'm planning on starting a series type of idea here for my monthly K-pop recommendations! So, at the end of each month, I will go back through all the K-pop releases from that month and give you my recommendations for songs/music videos I believe are worth checking out! :) I will give you some information along with my recommendations like obviously the title of the song and the artist/group, but also date of release, genre, entertainment company, and links to the music video and English translated lyrics! Of course, these are just my personal favorites, so please let me know your favorites in the comment section! Also, if you have a favorite release from a group this past month- who's your bias in that group? I love learning other fan's biases! ^_^ Let me know too if you have any other information you would like to see me include! Although, I'm thinking about doing artist/group profiles as well in the future... ^_~ So that will have more information and I hope you are looking forward to it~!

In order of release date:

1. Ravi (VIXX) - Where Should I Go ft. Mircodot

Released: January 4, 2016

This song is actually a pre-release single from Ravi's mixtape that I believe has not been fully released yet. He did however release a second pre-release single titled "OX" featuring the rapper Basick on January 20, 2016. Ravi is a member of the group VIXX, and this mixtape will be his solo debut.

Genre: Rap/Hip-Hop

Entertainment Company: Jellyfish Entertainment

Music Video: There was no music video released with the song, but here is a link to the offical audio on VIXX's Youtube account: Where Should I Go

English Lyrics: Lyrics

2. Rooftop House Studio - Whenever, That Time ft. Ben

Released: January 4, 2016

This video is so simple and cute, with a funny twist at the end! ^^ This is my first time listening to this duo, and I will have to check out more!

Genre: Indie

Entertainment Company: Fun Factory

Music Video: Whenever, That Time

English Lyrics: Lyrics

3. Seo Ye Ahn - Permeate

Released: January 4, 2016

This song is so beautiful and you can feel the sadness in Seo Ye Ahn's voice. The music is so captivating, as the story (women's memories) are told through sand art! It's so beautiful too..and heartbreaking! ;;

Genre: Ballad

Entertainment Company: JTM Entertainment

Music Video: Permeate

English Lyrics: Lyrics

4. Dalshabet - Someone Like U

Released: January 5, 2016

I have never really gotten into Dalshabet too much, I was always like "Meh, they're okay",but this song is fantastic! It's so catchy, it gets stuck in my head, and I'm obsessed with it! ^^ I'm looking forward to listening to this entire album, and to see more from Dalshabet in the future!

Genre: K-pop/Dance

Entertainment Company: Happy Face Entertainment

Music Video: Someone Like U

English Lyrics: Lyrics

5. Beatfinger - Feel It ft. Taeik

Released: January 5, 2016

You can NOT help but bob your head to the beat and dance around when listening to this song! It's so groovy and funky! ^0^ Plus, it has beatboxing!!

Genre: Rap/Hip-Hop, Funk

Entertainment Company: Knockdown

Music Video: n/a, but here is the official audio!

English Lyrics: n/a, I couldn't find any, sorry! ;;

6. CocoSori - Dark Circle

Released: January 5, 2016

This was definitely a "What did I just watch?" music video lol and that's awesome! :) Both the song and the music video are just silly, fun, and cute- all around feel good, pure entertainment! I feel a Kyary Pamyu Pamyu and Orange Caramel vibe! ^.^

Genre:K-pop/Dance

Entertainment Company: Mole Entertainment

Music Video: Dark Circle

English Lyrics: n/a, I can't find any, sorry! ;; I really wanted to know these too! :(

7. Lee Hyun Woo - Your Face ft. Louie of Geeks

Released: January 5, 2016

This track is so smooth in music/vocals and it's really well composed/produced! The music video is also very like cool chic with the colors, effects, and party scenes/angsty attitudes. lol I highly recommend this song!

Genre: Rap/Hip-Hop, R&B

Entertainment Company: Grandline, RBW, KeyEast

Music Video: Your Face

English Lyrics: Lyrics

8. K.Will - You Call It Romance ft. Davichi

Released: January 6, 2016

K.Will always delivers with his sweet, soothing voice and the girls' voices from Davichi match his perfectly! This is another feel good track, but it is so relaxing- it just puts a smile on your face...even though the song is about a playboy! lol The music is also very cute and the story draws you in.

Genre: K-pop/R&B

Entertainment Company: Starship Entertainment

Music Video: You Call It Romance

English Lyrics: Lyrics

9. Suzy (Miss A) & Baekhyun (EXO) - Dream

Released: January 7, 2016

Here is another sweet, relaxing track! Mixing two top talents with beautiful voices makes for a charming song and a huge hit! If the song doesn't immediately put a smile on your face, Suzy and Baekhyun's cute chemistry in the music video sure will!

Genre: Ballad, R&B

Entertainment Company: Mystic Entertainment, Jung Ang ICS, SM Entertainment, JYP Entertainment

Music Video: Dream

English Lyrics: Lyrics

10. Anda - Taxi

Released: January 7, 2016

This track is smooth, sexy, and chic! I have loved Anda since she was Andamiro, so it's cool to see her try something new with rapping! This song will definitely be stuck in my head, and I feel like it's a good, party track to put on when you and your girls and getting ready to go out! ^^

Genre: R&B, Rap/Hip-Hop, Pop

Entertainment Company: Emperor Entertainment Korea

Music Video: Taxi

English Lyrics: Lyrics

11. Lucky J - No Love

Released: January 8, 2016

If you are a fan of Hip-Hop, you will love this! The flows are great, and the R&B vocals are on point! Plus, just all the swag!! ^0^ While I wish Jessi J would have rapped more, she is amazing and I love her! This song is definitely one of my favorites from January!

Genre: Rap/Hip-Hop, R&B

Entertainment Company: YMC Entertainment

Music Video: No Love

English Lyrics: Lyrics

12. Teen Top - Warning Sign

Released: January 18, 2016

The music video is so well done, and I love all the outfits the boys wear! The styling is impeccable, like catdaddy suits! ^_~ The song makes you move and it is very well done too. I love seeing how much Teen Top has changed and grown to where they are now doing more mature songs! Teen Top is on top! :)

Genre: K-pop, R&B

Entertainment Company: TOP Media

Music Video: Warning Sign

English Lyrics: Lyrics

13. Stellar - Sting

Released: January 18, 2016

This video was so much fun to watch, because of all the details in the sets and the visuals! Of course, the Stellar girls are quite sexy as well! ^.^ I know this group is always surrounded by controversy, because of their sexy style and provacative lyrics, but I am loving Stellar more and more! I just thnk they keep getting better and better, and their songs always get stuck in my head!

Genre: K-pop

Entertainment Company: The Entertainment Pascal

Music Video: Sting

English Lyrics: Lyrics

That's it for now! Check back on this Friday for the second part of my January 2016 K-music recommendations!

Thanks for reading!

xoxo~ Ashley

Welcome! I'm Ashley~ 

Learn more about the creator, me here...

Click on my name or artist/song title above to open my Soundcloud playlist for all tracks!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page