top of page

Ashley Recommends - January 2016 K-Music Releases Part 2

Here is part 2 of my January 2016 K-music recommendations! There were a lot of amazing releases near the end of January, so this post will from January 21 - 31. It might not seem like many days, but there was a lot of music! ^^ Let's get started!

1. Cross Gene - Noona, You

Released: January 21, 2016

Cross Gene goes hard for their comeback! This song is so upbeat and catchy, and the music video is lots of fun! The guys are trying to get to the "noona" to save her from her captors, but they have to go through all these crazy traps and trials! There's also a twist at the end that had me laughing so hard! ^_^

Genre: K-pop, Dance

Entertainment Company: Amuse Korea Entertainment

Music Video: Noona, You

English Lyrics: Lyrics

2. The Legend - Crush On You

Released: January 21, 2016

I love how this track has retro vibes and it combines that with K-pop and Hip-Hop! It's a fun dance track! The music video is pretty typical of a K-pop video, but the retro sets were fun with all the neon colors, and it was cool to see Kyungri from 9Muses as the love interest of all the guys! :)

Genre: K-pop, Dance

Entertainment Company: SS Entertainment

Music Video: Crush On You

English Lyrics: Lyrics

3. Ravi (VIXX) - OX ft. Basick

Released: January 21, 2016

This is VIXX's Ravi's second pre-release to his solo debut mixtape. This has a great beat that you can bob your head to! lol I love hearing an entire song of him rapping instead of just a few lines in VIXX songs! ^^

Genre: Rap/Hip-Hop

Entertainment Company: Jellyfish Entertainment

Music Video: n/a, but here is the official audio: OX

English Lyrics: Lyrics

4. Zico (Block B) - I Am You, You Are Me

Released: January 26, 2016

I am loving this side of Zico! Usually, Block B's Zico's solo tracks are upbeat, hardcore rap/hip-hop, but here he takes on a sweeter, more R&B vibe. I am a huge fan of Zico's solo work, but I love this softer, smoother song just as much! The video has a cool concept, and cool neon effects too. Something that came across my mind was how much fun it would have been to style this music video! :)

Genre: R&B, Rap/Hip-Hop

Entertainment Company: Seven Seasons

Music Video: I Am You, You Are Me

English Lyrics: Lyrics

5. SUS4 - Pick Me Up

Released: January 27, 2016

Okay, so this song and music video are not very original or out of this world...but for some reason I just find this song to be really addicting and catchy! ^^ The music is really fun, and it puts a smile on my face, so I think it was arranged really well! These girls debuted last year in March, so they are still rookies, but I see a lot of potential and will keep my eye on them! :)

Genre: K-pop

Entertainment Company: TK Entertainment

Music Video: Pick Me Up

English Lyrics: Lyrics

6. Yezi (Fiestar) - Cider

Released: January 28, 2016

So POWERFUL! There needs to be more female rappers releasing music on their own!! I have an affinity for female rappers, and Yezi from Fiestar does not disappoint! This track will be on repeat for me, and I can't wait to check out her solo album! Yezi swags throughout the entire video, and I was feeeeelin it!! ^0^

Genre: Rap/Hip-Hop

Entertainment Company: Loen Entertainment

Music Video: Cider

English Lyrics: Lyrics

7. Ryeowook (Super Junior) - The Little Prince

Released: January 28, 2016

I was sold right away when this track started out acapella, it was perfect! I could be biased because I love The Little Prince... ;) But really, Ryeowook is so talented- those high notes and power notes! I feel that he conveys emotion really well through his voice. The video is so creative and artistic! I don't know what's all going on, but I'm sure there's lots of symbolism and I want to know more! All around amazing!!

Genre: Ballad, Pop

Entertainment Company: Label SJ, SM Entertainment

Music Video: The Little Prince

English Lyrics: Lyrics

8. M.C The Max - No Matter Where

Released: January 28, 2016

Warning: this music video will bring you to tears! ;; But it's also really beautiful! There are closeups of the simple things one does to get ready in the morning, and they become beautiful and mesmorizing. Like, the man's hair falling into his eyes as he gets into the shower, and the spritz of cologne onto a jacket. M.C The Max is another powerhouse vocal, and his voice blows you away!

Genre: Ballad

Entertainment Company: Music&New

Music Video: No Matter Where

English Lyrics: Lyrics

9. Mamamoo - I Miss You

Released: January 29, 2016

This was a digital release by Mamamoo, and I'm so excited their back! On this ballad, all the girls vocals mesh so well together, and it instantly relaxes you. They mix gentle, sweet vocals with powerful, diva-like vocals with gentle rap- it's really a fantastic song!

Genre: Ballad

Entertainment Company: Rainbow Bridge World

Music Video: I Miss You, this is not an official video, but Mamamoo has no audio or music video on their official channel.

English Lyrics: Lyrics

10. Royal Pirates - Dangerous

Released: January 29, 2016

I love the new sound and style Royal Pirates have! They really deliver with Dangerous, and I can just feel all my stress and frustrations melt away when I'm headbanging to this song! ^0^ In the video, you get to see the guys play their instruments, and be creative with splatter painting shirts and painting on the walls!

Genre: Rock

Entertainment Company: Apple of The Eye Co.

Music Video: Dangerous

English Lyrics: Lyrics

11. The Black Skirts - Everything

Released: January 29, 2016

This track is so mesmorizing and...hypnotic! ^.^ It can put you to sleep- in a good way! It's so relaxing and calming! The Black Skirts is actually one man, Bryan Cho, who sings and plays guitar, bass, and keyboards! He is so amazingly talented, check out more of his music!

Genre: Indie

Entertainment Company: Highgrnd

Music Video: Everything, this is not official, and there is no music video, just audio.

English Lyrics: n/a, I can't find any, sorry! T.T

Which track and which music video are your favorites? Let me know in the comments section! Also, if you have a favorite release from a group this past month- who's your bias in that group?

Thanks for reading!

xoxo~ Ashley

Welcome! I'm Ashley~ 

Learn more about the creator, me here...

Click on my name or artist/song title above to open my Soundcloud playlist for all tracks!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page