top of page

Princess Bounding

Continuing my obsession with Disney, I actually based my CAD (computer-aided design) and Fashion Promotion final projects on the Disney princesses! In CAD, our final project took up most of the semester. We worked on creating a brand for the Spring/Summer and Fall/Winter seasons, where we had to come up with an identity, customer profile, an advertisement, mood boards, textile designs or patterns, outfit designs, and flats to show the basic pieces. It was a lot, but so much fun to work on and I learned so much about designing with computer programs! :)

This page goes more into my target market. Here is my customer moodboard profile. As the description says, a Princess Bounding woman is trendy and bold, but also love classic Disney and is sophisticated. As a store, Princess Bounding will provide women with up to date, on trend fashions inspired by the Disney princesses that allows them to "dress up" as their favorite princess while still remaining stylish and age-appropriate.

Next is my advertisement image. I wanted the ad to feel regal, but yet fun. Again, I used sketches from the Disney Princess Designer Collection to present the princesses, but in a more fashionable way. On the top left, I included my taglines, which are meant to empower women and make them feel beautiful- like a princess! :)

My Spring/Summer moodboard shows my inspiration for my Spring/Summer designs. I was inspired by the original Disney princess' clothing, fashion sketches for the Disney Princess Designer Collection, and the everyday women who Disneybound the princesses. My moodboard also includes my color story, which is taken directly from each of the princesses clothing colors.

I had to create textiles patterns that would be used in my designs for my mini collection. I chose three princesses to represent my Spring/Summer collection- Merida, Belle, and Elsa. I included elements from the movies, and details from the original princesses designs into my patterns.

Here is Belle from Beauty and the Beast in a dress inspired by her famous golden yellow gown from the movie. I included the draped swags from her dress, and the rose design from the movie to give a color contrast. I wanted the dress to be more relaxed, but still elegant, and I really love the off the shoulder sleeves, so I added that as well. This always makes me think of a spring garden party or a fancy picnic. :)

Brave's Merida is wearing a design that is more end of Spring going into fall, as I put her in a cape and trousers. The cape has an arrow design, because archery for Merida is such a huge part in the movie; the color is straight from her original dress. The top is inspired by the women's fashions of the time, where they had to wear corsets and lace themselves up (restricted, yuck!). Merida's dress also has a lace up design at the top of her dress! I really wanted to put her in trousers, because I feel that is what she really wants to wear to be free, and this is what she would wear in modern times. :)

My favorite design I created from my Spring/Summer mini collection is the dress for Frozen's Elsa. I love the traditional rosemaling that Disney made sure to add in and get right for the movie. The rosemaling on Elsa's design is actually from her coronation dress, which I know is supposed to represent her being restricted and not free, but I love like the design with a more daring dress design! I also added Elsa's specifically designed snowflake to add more interest to the pattern. Some of my favorite design elements are cutouts and sheerness, and I feel Elsa was a perfect fit for these details. :)

Here are the technical flats for Belle, which just shows the basic clothing and construction. This will include fastens, zippers, seams, and any other findings.

After Spring/Summer, I had to create a moodboard, textile patterns, designs, and flats for the Fall/Winter season. Here is my moodboard where I was more inspired by the Disney princess face characters at the Disney parks, along with Disneybounders. The face characters don't stick to just one outfit, they change with the seasons. So, at the parks, they have winter season outfits that inspired my more cold weather collection! :) The color story comes from the princess face characters I chose. As you can see from the board, I focused on Aurora, Cinderella, and Jasmine.

Here are my textile designs for Fall/Winter. For Aurora, I used heavier fabrics like velvet and fur, and then jewels inspired by the bodice on Aurora's face character from the moodboard. Cinderella's fabric is a mesh, eyelet kind of fabric inspired by the high collar on her face character that I really liked. The jewels are also elements from her face character's dress, as all the characters' dress include regal jewels! :) Jasmine's face character includes jewels as well, but with this design I included a real faint paisley design that I feel would go well with her loose, middle Eastern design.

I wanted to do something unexpected for Aurora since she is such a feminine princess. Also, I didn't want to include too many dresses in my collections. ;) I guess it looks a bit like a horse rider's oufit lol but I inlcuded my textile on the draped fur collar like in the face character's design, and also the zig zag trim that you can see at the bottom of my top.

Cinderella has a more party dress design. The textile design is in the jeweled skirt like with the face character, and the sleeves are a rouched fabric. The top of the bodice is like the face character's back high collar thing. :) I guess I also really like the off the shoulder look too! ^_~

Here is my favorite design from my Fall/Winter design. I again, wanted to do something unexpected. I didn't want to put Jasmine in her known harem pants, so instead I designed her a flowy maxi skirt in a beautiful gold inspired by her jeweled trim. To go with it, I designed a wrap around blouse with bell sleeves, that is a bit bohemian. :) I would totally wear this outfit! ^^

Here are my flats to go with these designs!

This was my project, which I hoped you enjoyed viewing and are inspired by! Go and create something true to you! :) Thanks for reading!

Which was your favorite design from my collections? What would you put your favorite Disney princess in? What would your brand be called, and what would it be? Let me know your thoughts in the comments! :)

xoxo~ Ashley

Welcome! I'm Ashley~ 

Learn more about the creator, me here...

Click on my name or artist/song title above to open my Soundcloud playlist for all tracks!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page