top of page

Fashion That Reigns!

A little background: I've been watching the CW series "Reign", and I'm pretty obsessed with it. I'm about halfway through the second season on Netflix, and Benna is love. That would be Kenna and Bash....together forever! ♥ :) I suppose this show caught my attention, because I adored "The Tudors", and needed something similar to fill the void since I finished watching that series. "Reign" is a (loosely based) historical drama on the early times of Mary, Queen of Scots while she lives in France with her husband, King Francis. There's drama everywhere as there is political deceit and corruption, power plays, love affairs, pregnancy and baby daddy/momma problems, difficult and dangerous monarch decisions/law, murder, kidnapping, poison, and everything else life threatening- basically "The Tudors" in France, and I love it! However anyone that knows me, knows that I love everything fashion history...but wait, these shows are extremely and so painfully obviously ALL wrong! Yeah, to be honest, it gets on my nerves sometimes and I point out things that are inaccurate often, but I still enjoy them anyway because I understand that they wanted to appeal to a larger audience..and we all know that beautiful people in sexy clothes sells.. Regardless of extreme inaccuracy, the gowns of "Reign" are all absolutely gorgeous, and my modern fashion tastes pull me in to see the all the wonderful sheer and embellished detailing! Thus, I wanted to share with you some of the fashions from "Reign" in case you have not seen the series! Prepare yourself for jaw-dropping, high fashion gowns! ;)

To give you some historical comparison, here is the real Mary, Queen of Scots and the real King Francis. Quite the difference, am I right? Look at the not so debonair, baby face Francis! Cracks me up! lol

Okay, so first up we have the stunning and reigning Queen of France and Scotland, Mary, who is also the incredible queen of fashion. Seriously, no one can compare to her gowns- so gorgeous! She will take up the majority of this post, because it was so hard to narrow down her pictures! lol

This one is really cool, because the costume department custom made this dress for Adelaide Kane, who plays Mary. This is something I actually like about the costume department, they sometimes design and sew their own costumes, or add fabric, embellishments, or overlays to costumes! I think it's awesome that they get that creative ability, I would love to do something like that with a television show! :)

This beautiful red gown is my favorite that I have seen Mary in so far. I wish I could have found some better pictures! The vibrant red color and the sheer fabric with the lacey flowers are so stunning- it makes me think of one of my favorite designers, Marchesa! The dress was also made by the costume department, and they did such an amazing job! I was blown away!

Next is my favorite character and one of Mary's Scottish best friends and former lady-in-waiting, the Lady Kenna! She is played by the gorgeous and talented actress Caitlin Stasey. Kenna has a more bohemian vibe that I love, and she is just so fierce and strong! :)

Lady Lola is also one of Mary's best friends from home and former lady-in-waiting, though their relationship often becomes strained in the series... Lady Lola is portrayed by actress Anna Popplewell (Chronicles of Narnia anyone?).

Next is Madam Greer, another former lady-in-waiting and best friend of Queen Mary. Greer is played by Celina Sinden, who is just so gorgeous! ^_^ Even though, I sometimes dislike her character's decisions like Lady Lola... lol

Another one of my favorite characters is the hilarious ice queen, Queen Mother Catherine De'Medici- mother of King Francis (Mary's husband). She is just so brutal, strong, fabulous, and so hilarious with her snide remarks and looks! It's the best, and she is so brilliantly played by the talented and beautiful Megan Follows.

Lastly, I have some group shots that show off some more beautiful gowns, and even one with the brothers because they and their fashion need love too! :)

I hope you enjoyed this as much as I did researching pictures for this post! :) It's long, but there are so many fabulous gowns and many more, so take a look at "Reign fashion" or "Reign dresses" on Google images! If you want to check out and watch "Reign", the first two seasons are on Netflix, and the 5 most recent episodes (season 3) are available on Hulu and the CW's website. "Reign" is still on air on the CW and the first half of season 3 ended on January 22, but the second half will premiere Monday, April 25 at 8/7c so get caught up! ^0^ Besides, its historical inaccuracy, this show is addicting, powerful, and very entertaining!

Also, if you want to see more "Reign" fashion, check out the sites I used to find my pictures:

You Know You Love Fashion (explores the historical costuming inaccuracy)

Buzzfeed community member post

Do you watch Reign? What are your thoughts, who are your favorite characters, storylines, episodes, fashions? ..just don't spoil anything for me! ;) Which was your favorite gown in this post? Which gown would you rock from this post? Let me know your thoughts, comments, opinions in the comments section!

xoxo~ Ashley

Welcome! I'm Ashley~ 

Learn more about the creator, me here...

Click on my name or artist/song title above to open my Soundcloud playlist for all tracks!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page