top of page

Ashley Recommends - February 2016 K-Music Releases

This is a little late, but my laptop's hard drive failed and I've been swamped with homework.. I apologize! Here are my recommendations for February's K-Music releases! I have been using Wikipedia by the way for a list of all the releases, and I love finding hidden gems there that I fall in love with- especially K-Indie artists! :) There were so many great releases this month, but I'm easily swayed with music- I like it all lol, so let me know your opinions too! ^_^ I also decided to add in the album name to give more information, and so you can check out the rest of the album's songs! These releases are in order of their release date, so it is not ranked by my preference. Let's go! *edit: I don't know why the placement of some things are odd, it's not like this on the editor :/ I'm sorry about that, I will try to fix it in the near future!

1. Winner - Baby Baby

Released: February 1, 2016

I have always wanted to check Winner out, but just never took the time to do so. I'm so happy I started doing this section, because they are so talented! I wasn't expecting them to be as relaxed and R&B-like, which is a really nice surprise. This song seems sexy and smooth on the surface, but it is actually a deeply emotional song referring to the spiral of depression. But ending with the hope of a new year, new you outlook! ^^

Genre: Pop/R&B

Album: EXIT:E

Company: YG Entertainment

Music Video: Baby Baby

English Lyrics: Lyrics

2. Winner - 센지해 (Sentimental)

Released: February 1, 2016

Another Winner song! This song is more upbeat and playful, and the video goes right along with it giving fun visuals and party like atmosphere! Even though the lyrics are about missing an ex and lean on depression as well, you would never guess it! It's so upbeat that you are cheered up and dancing around your room in no time! Strange combination of actual lyrics and feel of the song..lol ^^

Genre: Pop

Album: EXIT:E

Company: YG Entertainment

Music Video: Sentimental

English Lyrics: Lyrics

3. 4Minute - 싫어 (Hate)

Released: February 1, 2016

I love that 4Minute is getting back into their powerful more hip-hop vibe! This song screams female empowerment, and makes you feel like a bada**! ;) I love the way the video was directed, with distinct split scenes/outfits that went perfectly with the up and downs of the music. This song was also produced by Skrillex!

Genre: Dance/Hip-Hop

Album: Act. 7

Company: Cube Entertainment

Music Video: Hate

English Lyrics: Lyrics

4. VIXX - The King

Released: February 1, 2016

This song is actually for the drama "Moorim School, which stars VIXX member Hongbin (front right in picture). I love when group's change up their concept, and while this still has a dark feel that VIXX has always done so well, it's more of a rock song, which they haven't done! It has convinced me to check out more OST (original soundtrack) songs!

Genre: Drama/Pop-Rock

Album: Moorim School OST Pt. 2

Company: CJ E&M, JS Pictures

Music Video: no official video, but here is a fan made video with clips from the drama! The King

English Lyrics: Lyrics

5. Yoo Seungwoo - 뭐어때 (Whatever) ft. Crucial Star

Released: February 2, 2016

Yoo Seungwoo has a very calming, sweet voice that I love. I have the feeling of listening to his music in the dark surrounded by candles, if that makes sense...lol My favorite thing though is this music video! While definitely sad, the story is creative and compelling! "You're Beautiful" which he relased last year is actually the second part in this story. "Whatever" tells the viewer what happended before. Take a look at both to see if you can figure out the plot!

Genre: Pop

Album: Pit a Pat

Company: Starship Entertainment

Music Video: Whatever

English Lyrics: Lyrics

6. Taeyeon (of SNSD) - Rain

Released: February 3, 2016

There were many more melancholy, relaxed songs this month, which usually is the case for the winter months. Taeyeon's solo release gets this chilled out vibe perfect, and you just want to close your eyes and sway along to the music. The music video is also fun to watch as it gradually floods inside this vintage looking/filtered room.

Genre: Pop

Album: Rain (single)

Comanpy: SM Entertainment

Music Video: Rain

English Lyrics: Lyrics

7. Reddy - 생각해 (Think) ft. Jay Park

Released: February 3, 2016

It's no secret that I'm obsessed with Jay Park and all things Jay Park. ;) Thus, I will admit that it was his feature that first drew me in. I had never heard of Reddy, but he needs much more recognition! His flow is so effortless, but his timing and the way he hits each word just right in the right tone (I guess..lol I don't know how to explain it) is amazing! I am convinced to check out his other songs and am a fan! The song/video is also smooth and sexy as all get out, which is my favorite!

Genre: Hip-Hop/R&B

Album: Think (single)

Company: Hi-Lite Records

Music Video: Think

English Lyrics: Lyrics

8. 2BIC - 사랑한 그때처럼 (Love Memories)

Released: February 3, 2016

I really need to listen to more 2BIC, more than just their singles. They have such powerful and talented voices, one's that like just lift you up to anothe level and high! This is another song I just close my eyes to and feel myself melting into relaxation. ^^

Genre: Ballad/Pop

Album: Love Memories (single)

Company:

Nextar Entertainment

Music Video: Love Memories

English Lyrics: n/a, couldn't find any, sorry!

9. Grace - I'm Fine

Released: February 4, 2016

As you can tell from the promotional photo, this song and video is pretty out there and crazy! Very unexpected for a winter release, as this song feels more like a summer, turn up tune. But it's a very welcomed break from all the melancholy vibes! While I feel she will get some hate for being "too Western" or "copying Miley Cyrus" or something, I really enjoyed this!

Genre: Pop/Hip-Hop

Album: I'm Fine (single)

Company: YYAC

Music Video: I'm Fine

English Lyrics: n/a, I couldn't find any, sorry! I really wanted to know these too! ;_;

10. Nunco Band - 사랑의 응급환자 삐뽀삐뽀 (Love Hospital)

Released: February 4, 2016

One of my favorite releases this month comes from an unknown indie band. The video is pretty simple, but it's also a bit funny as you can see from the picture! ^^ The song is really fun and catchy too; the singer has such a cool, unique voice. A breath of fresh air from "normal k-pop", I highly recommend giving this a listen/watch!

Genre: Indie Rock

Album: Love Hospital (single)

Company: BGBG Records

Music Video: Love Hospital

English Lyrics: n/a, couldn't find any, sorry!

11. Mamamoo - 1cm의 자촌심 (Taller Than You)

Released: February 12, 2016

This song is so catchy, and the video is hilarious as are the lyrics! I think this could be another favorite this month. It's just a song about height, and showing off saying you're taller...I wonder where they came up with this idea? lol I love that Mamamoo isn't afraid to have a different sound. Their funk sound is still present, but this time they switch it up with adding hip-hop! I love this! ^0^

Genre: Hip-Hop/Pop

Album: 1cm Pride

Company: Rainbow Bridge World

Music Video: Taller Than You

English Lyrics: Lyrics

12. Yoon Jongshin & Seventeen Vocal Unit - Chocolate

Released: February 12, 2016

This song and video ar just as sweet as chocolate! Fans of these Seventeen members (myself included) will fangirl to no ends with all the close ups of smiles, stares, and cute gestures of the Seventeen Vocal Unit. I'm also a fan of Yoon Jongshin, who has an incredible voice, but he doesn't sing or even show up until the end, which was a bit disappointing. However, this song puts a great big smile on your face! ^^

Genre: Ballad/Pop

Album: Monthly Project Collaboration (single)

Company: Mystic Entertainment, Pledis Entertainment

Music Video: Chocolate

English Lyrics: Lyrics

13. AOA Cream (Sub-unit of AOA) - 질투 나요 Baby (I'm Jelly Baby)

Released: February 12, 2016

I miss the days of AOA the actual band, playing instruments..but at the same time, AOA Cream's song is catchy and upbeat. The video is pretty hilarious as the girl's transform and have super powers to get revenge on a boy they like who is flirting with another girl. It's a very bright and refreshing song!

Genre: Dance/Pop

Album: I'm Jelly Baby (single)

Company: FNC Entertainment

Music Video: I'm Jelly Baby

English Lyrics: Lyrics

14. Kim Jaejoong (of JYJ) - Love You More

Released: February 12, 2016

I feel like Kim Jaejoong is one of those artists that is just always consistently fantastic. I mean he is a very talented singer, but I feel him, his team, and company spend their time on his music, and always put out quality work. "Love You More" is no exception! I love that the video combines behind the scenes, regular people, and regular music video scenes. And I'm not going to lie, I also really love the close ups of Jaejoong and when he's shirtless... ;)

Genre: Pop-Rock

Album: No.X

Company: C-JeS Entertainment

Music Video: Love You More

English Lyrics: Lyrics

15. Rainbow - Whoo

Released: February 15, 2016

Rainbow is another group I need to check out more! They are a pretty typical k-pop girl group to be honest, but that's a good thing! ^^ This is another fun, upbeat song that makes you want to dance and have a good time! Also, a small thing, I really love that they kept with their theme of their name lol There were rainbow colors everywhere, in small details, and each member had her own color!

Genre: Dance/Pop

Album: Prism

Company: DSP Media

Music Video: Whoo

English Lyrics: Lyrics

16. K.Will, Junggigo, Jooyoung, & Brother Su - 요리 좀 해요 (Cook For Love)

Released: February 15, 2016

A group of very talented men with sweet voices who sound simply amazing together! The song is very romantic, cute, and instantly cheers you up! I really adore the video too! I love that the men (singers) all seem to be in different stages of life/relationships with varying personalities, but they all cook for their loves. It's a really well done video!!

Genre: Ballad

Album: Cook For Love (single)

Company: Starship Entertainment

Music Video: Cook For Love

English Lyrics: Lyrics

17. Brave Girls - 변했어 (Deepened)

Released: February 16, 2016

This is my introduction to Brave Girls, my first video, and man I need to catch up! I love this song and the video is very sexy- but like nicely done sexy, not trashy! :) There's definitely eye candy though! I really like the vibe of this song, it's like those smooth, sexy R&B/hip-hop songs I love, while still being very k-pop girl group. I also love the dance, and I want to learn it! ^^

Genre: Pop

Album: Deepened (single)

Company: Brave Entertainment

Music Video: Deepened

English Lyrics: Lyrics

18. Double S 301 - Pain

Released: February 16, 2016

Here is another group I have always meant to follow more, well SS501. When I got into k-pop, they were already on indefinite hiatus, but now that Double S 301 is here, I'm so happy! ^^ This is the kind of grown, mature sexy that I love to see male groups evolve into! I also like how simple the video is, and that it's just them and their backup dancers dancing. This dance is so fantastic that it deserves the spotlight! :)

Genre: Pop/R&B

Album: Eternal5 (sobs, how cute is that?!)

Company: CJ Entertainment

English Lyrics: Lyrics

19. G.Soul - Smooth Operator ft. San E

Released: February 16, 2016

G.Soul stole my heart when I listened to "You", and I'm so excited he is back! I'm even more excited that he collaborated with San E, one of my favorite rappers! ^0^ This is actually a cover of Sade's song by the same name (which I also recommend), but switches it to be a girl who is a player. It's really just a great collaboration that I will be listening to constantly! I want a video! :)

Genre: R&B/Soul/Hip-Hop

Album: Smooth Operator (single)

Company: KT Music, JYP Entertainment, Brand New Music

Music Video: Smooth Operator (official video, but just an image with audio)

English Lyrics: Lyrics

20. Microdot - Celebrate ft. The Quiett, Babylon, & Sanchez

Released: February 16, 2016

This track stays true to it's name- celebrate! I will definitely be listening to this when I'm getting ready to go out! It's cool to see all these rappers that I'm fans of collaborate, and to hear their different tones/styles in one song! I'm a huge fan of K-hip hop and love straight raps, but it's nice to have a break in this song with the smooth, talented voice of Phantom's Sanchez. A+ Microdot!!

Genre: Rap/Hip-Hop

Album: Celebrate (single)

Company: Shin Brothers

Music Video: Celebrate (not video, but official audio)

English Lyrics: Lyrics

21. NU'EST - 여왕의 기사 (Overcome)

Released: February 17, 2016

I'm so happy they have finally made a comeback! ^0^ Although, I'm a little mad that Aron was pretty jipped in this video... The song though is fantastic, the way it starts all smooth and then drops into this great dance beat! Also, were they hinting at Sleeping Beauty and maybe Snow Queen? Love it!!

Genre: Dance/Pop

Album: Q. is

Company: Pledis Entertainment

Music Video: Overcome

English Lyrics: Lyrics

22. Esbee - 노래하고 싶어 (I Just Wanna Sing) ft. Hanhae

Released: February 17, 2016

"I Just Wanna Sing" is just that, singing. :) Esbee and Phantom's Hanhae are just casually chilling in a recording room playing their song on a webcam to viewers, and it is everything. This song is so simple, pretty, refreshing, and wonderful! Plus, there is a surprise guest that makes a pretty hilarious visit! ;)

Genre: R&B/Hip-Hop

Album: I Just Wanna Sing (single)

Company: Brand New Music, LOEN Entertainment

Music Video: I Just Wanna Sing

English Lyrics: no lyrics page, but official video has English captions!

Please look forward to part 2 next week! ^_^ I hope you enjoyed my little notes on these releases, and you went and checked them out! These artists are amazing and so talented! :)

Which track and which music video are your favorites? Let me know in the comments section! Also, if you have a favorite release from a group this past month- who's your bias in that group? Was there a comeback you weren't expecting, or were really excited to see? Did I leave out your favorite release? Let me know what it is, and why it's your favorite! ^^ Let me know your thoughts and opinions in the comments section!

Thanks for reading!

xoxo~ Ashley

Welcome! I'm Ashley~ 

Learn more about the creator, me here...

Click on my name or artist/song title above to open my Soundcloud playlist for all tracks!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page