top of page

Ashley Recommends - February 2016 K-Music Releases Part 2

Here is part 2 of my February K-Music recommendations! I hope you enjoy, find some new music/groups to listen and become a fan of, and try out something new! I apologize again for how late this is, I will try to stay on top of these and my regular posts in the future!! Here we go~

1. Yoo Youngjin X D.O (SM Station) - Tell Me (What Is Love)

Released: February 19, 2016

Their voices- holy cow!! The word that first came to my mind was crisp...if that makes sense? lol It was a really smooth, R&B track that I really enjoyed! They sounded wonderful together, and complimented each other's voices really well. The video was simple, just a girl putting down black and white pictures of Youngjin and D.O in the studio, but it's nice to see behind the scenes! I just wish it was a recording to where we can actually see them perform in the studio!

Genre: R&B/Soul

Album: Tell Me (What Is Love) single

Company: SM Entertainment

English Lyrics: Lyrics

2. ELO - F.W.B ft. Hoody

Released: February 19, 2016

Another sultry R&B track that is definitely an eargasm. I need to up my game on both ELO and Hoody! The bridge of this song got to me both times when one of them would sing "I love you", and they would just take it higher and higher. Sweet love music for sure, AOMG does this well! ;)

Genre: R&B/Soul

Album: F.W.B single

Company: AOMG

Music Video: no official, but here is a fanmade one with English subs!

English Lyrics: Lyrics

3. B.A.P - Feel So Good

Released: February 22, 2016

I'm so excited B.A.P is back! ^0^ I do like their more hardcore, hip-hop concepts and music, but this video is so much fun! The song is very summery sounding, like driving down the road with your friends and the windows down! It really pumps you up! I love all the colors in this video too, it's all pastel and 80s Miami Vice colors- so totally bangin!

Genre: Dance/Pop

Album: Carnival

Company: TS Entertainment

Music Video: Feel So Good

English Lyrics: Lyrics

4. Taemin (of SHINee) - Drip Drop

Released: February 22, 2016

I had to include a gif, because this dance is on fire! I love this song, and it's my favorite out of his two singles! I loved that he used multi-cultural (is that the word?) people as his backup dancers, and Taemin was born to perform, goodness! I really recommend this song and video, the song sounds so cool and unique!

Genre: Dance/Urban Pop

Album: Press It

Company: SM Entertainment

Music Video: Drip Drop

English Lyrics: Lyrics

5. Taemin (of SHINee) - Press Your Number

Released: February 23, 2016

This is the main single from Taemin's Press It album, and like I said before, Taemin was born to perform! There are three videos for this song, three!! An actual story video, that is amazing and confusing and intriguing; then two dance performances! It's a really high quality song that I will have on repeat. Also, it's produced by Bruno Mars!

Genre: Dance/Urban Pop

Album: Press It

Company: SM Entertainment

Music Video: Press Your Number

English Lyrics: Lyrics

6. Astro - 숨바꼭질 (Hide & Seek)

Released: February 23, 2016

At first I didn't think I was going to like this, but the song quickly grew on me and it will be stuck in my head! This is Astro's debut song, and I see so much potential with this group! The video is adorable and really funny, and I love the dance! I hope Astro sticks around, they deserve lots of success when they have some more comebacks under their belt! ^^

Genre: Pop/Dance

Album: Spring Up

Company: Fantagio

Music Video: Hide & Seek

English Lyrics: Lyrics

7. 4TEN - 지독하게 (Dreadful)

Released: February 23, 2016

As soon as the video started, I was obsessed! I love the sexy, cool, bada** chick concept, and these girls owned it! The took some sweet revenge on a guy in the video, and I loved all the fashion! I saw a lot of people commenting saying it sounds like an anime opening song or a song by Japanese group, AAA, so no wonder why I love it- I love AAA! ^^ I am really looking forward to seeing more, and I hope they stick with this concept!

Genre: Dance/Pop

Album: Jack Of All Trades

Company: Jungle Entertainment

Music Video: Dreadful

English Lyrics: Lyrics

8. Ladies' Code - 갤럭시 (Galaxy)

Released: February 24, 2016

I'm so happy Ladies' Code is back! They are such strong, talented ladies! This song is dark and enticing, which I find to be really unique with a k-pop girl group. It's not sexy, cute, upbeat, or really poppy. It's got a whole other vibe to it. It's like VIXX but in female form, and a bit more chill. lol The video is so interesting and I really want to know more about it and its symbolism...maybe? :) Fantastic comeback all around!

Genre: R&B/Soul/Pop

Album: Myst3ry

Company: Polaris Entertainment

Music Video: Galaxy

English Lyrics: Lyrics

9. Jung Joonyoung - 공감 (Sympathy) ft. Suh Youngeun

Released: February 24, 2016

This song really blew me away. Favorite ballad and I'm going as far as to say favorite song of the month. There's so much to say! Joonyoung's voice is so mesmorizing and unique. I love the contrast between his and Youngeun's voice, but at the same time they both convey amazing emotion. I'm not ashamed to say I cried while watching this video. The video, song, and lyrics all together are so heart-wrenching, but it's so beautiful. The video is fantastic, and I love that the story and song match so well, like in the progression of lightheartedness to deeply heartbreaking. It's in a movie kind of format, so it's longer, but totally worth the watch! Ah, long note lol but it's just that good, I could go on forever! Oh and Lea from Arirang TV's TouchQ makes an appearance! <3 And Joonyoung's hair slays me omg *0*

Genre: Ballad

Album: Sympathy single

Company: C9 Entertainment

Music Video: Sympathy

English Lyrics: n/a, can't find a page, but there are subs on the video!

10. WJSN Cosmic Girls - MoMoMo

Released: February 25, 2016

I had never listened to Cosmic Girls, but this song is really catchy! I love the concept of the video and lyrics. At first they talk about unexpectedly falling for a guy, then they start a secret romance! The video is really cute and fun to watch- there are so many bright scenes! I also like that they stuck with the theme of their name- Cosmic Girls, this will help them stand out. There's a surprise guest appearance at the very end, and it made me so happy! :)

Genre: Pop

Album: Would You Like?

Company: Starship Entertainment, Yuehua Entertainment

Music Video: MoMoMo

English Lyrics: Lyrics

11. WJSN Cosmic Girls - Catch Me

Released: February 25, 2016

Whoa, talk about a complete 180! These girls go from adorably innocent to hip-hop sexy! Now I can't decide which one I like better! I'm going to have to get more into this group, I love it when a group can change up their concept, but still be consistently good. The video is just them dancing in a room and a lot of eye candy closeups, but the fashion and dancing is awesome!

Genre: Dance/Pop

Album: Would You Like?

Company: Starship Entertainment, Yuehua Entertainment

Music Video: Catch Me

English Lyrics: Lyrics

12. Mamamoo - 넌 is 뭔들 (You're The Best)

Released: February 26, 2016

Mamamoo is quickly becoming one of my favorite groups! I love their funky, retro sound! Here they take on a 70s vibe in the video and fashion, and I'm diggin' what they're layin' down! ...lol They always look like they have so much fun in their videos, and both their songs and videos cheer me instantly. This video is hilarious, and the song will be on repeat just like their last release!

Genre: Pop/Dance

Album: Melting

Company: Rainbow Bridge World

Music Video: You're The Best

English Lyrics: Lyrics

13. KIXS (DMTN's Jeesu) - 기어갈게요 (Please Come Back)

Released: February 26, 2016

Yes. I hardcored fangirled to this. Maybe it's the lack of sleep...but it's probably because it's been way too long without my DMTN bias Jeesu, who now goes back KIXS for his solo! ^0^ Another smooth, sexy track, his vocals are amazing- those high notes! While I miss DMTN (on hiatus), I love that Jeesu is getting his chance to really shine, and show what he can do! This dance is just, I can't even put into words, it's perfect. Perfect. Check this out for sure!

Genre: R&B/Pop

Album: Please Come Back single

Company: Soul Shop Entertainment

Music Video: Please Come Back

English Lyrics: n/a, can't find page but English subs are on video! ^^

14. Yoon Mirae, Kenzie, Matthew Tishler (SM Station) - Because Of You

Released: February 26, 2016

I love SM's Station, it's such a cool concept to put out a new song every week, and I love that they are collaborating with artists outside of their company! It's easy to rag on SM's business practices, but this is something they are doing right!

The song is beautifully simple, and Mirae (Tasha, T) is a legend. She sings this beautifully as well, and it's really refreshing and cool to see behind the scenes with recording.

Genre: Ballad/Pop

Album: Because Of You single

Company: SM Entertainment

Music Video: Because Of You

English Lyrics: Lyrics

15. Eddy Kim - 팔당댐 (Paldangdam) ft. Beenzino

Released: February 26. 2016

Eddy Kim can do no wrong! He is such a talented artist all around, and everything he puts out is quality, refreshing music. I feel like his videos always stand out, like you will always remember it's an Eddy Kim video. This video was artistic and had that 70s, 80s retro vibe that's been popular in k-pop recently! Beenzino's feature was a perfect choice, he kills it! Even though the track is upbeat, it's very chill...like you just got hit with a nice summer breeze..? lol

Genre: Pop

Album: Paldangdam single

Company: Mystic Entertainment

Music Video: Paldangdam

English Lyrics: Lyrics

16. Sunwoo Jung-a - 그러려니 (Stay Put)

Released: February 29, 2016

Sometimes it's nice to get away from the sounds of k-pop, and hear something completely different. I can't place my finger on what I truly love about this song, but I really love it! She's got a unique indie voice, that reminds me of some of Pink Martini's (look them up if you don't know them! ^^) songs. I can just close my eyes and escape, nothing else is around me or in my mind but this song. The video is very artsy, single shots of objects just laying on a plain background, some like ice cream and an ice cube melting- I want to know what it all means! lol

Genre: Indie/Ballad

Album: Stay Put single

Company: Magic Strawberry Sound

Music Video: Stay Put

English Lyrics: n/a, can't find sorry! I really wish I knew these! ;;

17. Cho Duck Hwan - Fire in the rain

Released: February 29, 2016

What a talented, classy man! :) The band behind him is incredible too! This is labeled as rock, but I see it as jazzy rock. lol The track is really calming, and it really drew me in. If I weren't watching the video, I would close my eyes and focus on nothing else but the music. I wish other genres like this besides k-pop got more recognition. Maybe they do in Korea, but more people should know this here in the U.S.! I love it!!

Genre: Rock/Jazz

Album: Fire in the rain single

Company: C9 Entertainment

Music Video: Fire in the rain

English Lyrics: Lyrics

18. Baek Ji Young X Cheetah - 사랑이 온다 (Can You Feel Me)

Released: February 29, 2016

This song is so addicting, and you can't not bob your head along and dance! :) These are both powerful, talented women who I look up to, so it's really exciting to see them work together! They both nail their parts, and I can't wait to listen to the whole album!

Genre: Pop

Album: Girl Crush

Company: Double Kick Entertainment

English Lyrics: Lyrics

Which track and which music video are your favorites? Let me know in the comments section! Also, if you have a favorite release from a group this past month- who's your bias in that group? Was there a comeback you weren't expecting, or were really excited to see? Did I leave out your favorite release? Let me know what it is, and why it's your favorite! ^^ Let me know your thoughts and opinions in the comments section!

Thanks for reading!

xoxo~ Ashley

Welcome! I'm Ashley~ 

Learn more about the creator, me here...

Click on my name or artist/song title above to open my Soundcloud playlist for all tracks!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page