top of page

Ashley Recommends - March 2016 K-Music Releases

I'm back for another round of K-Music recommendations! It feels like we were just here right? haha ;) Apologies for the February releases being so late, but March is already at an end! Can you believe it? Time sure does fly! There were actually a lot of tracks released this month that I couldn't find on YouTube, so I couldn't even listen to many of them! ;; However, from what I have heard, March has had many catchy tracks released that will be on repeat for me! ^^ Here are my favorite releases from March, hope you enjoy and find something new! :)

1. Voisper - 그대 옥수리로 알해쥐 (In your voice)

Released: March 2, 2016

I can't believe this is their debut, it's so strong! Obviously these men have beautiful voices and each are crazy talented, but what I love most about this release is the lyrics. They are so sweet, romantic, and warm. I think it's really well written. I'm not sure how to explain it, so I will give you some examples: "The soft hums when you dry your hair, I wish I could hear. Tell me in your voice. Say you love me with those lips. Anything to say before we hang up? You already said goodnight...I love your voice more than I love the stars." Ah there's so many more great lines, so check out the lyrics! :)

Genre: Ballad/Pop

Album: "In your voice" debut single

Company: Evermore Music

Music Video: "In your voice"

English Lyrics: Lyrics

2. Hong Jinyoung - 엄지 척 (Thumb Up)

Released: March 2, 2016

Jinyoung is so bright and adorable! What really made me include this song though, was that it is a mix of pop and trot music. This track is made special by the trot sound, and without it, it still would be an enjoyable song, but trot really kicks it up a notch! Jinyoung's unique voice fits the genre well, as she..makes her voice go up and down like connotation...I don't know musical terms. :/ lol Warning, the chorus of "엄지 엄지 척" will get stuck in your head! ^_^

Genre: Pop/Trot

Album: Thumb Up

Company: Music K Entertainment

Music Video: "Thumb Up"

English Lyrics: Lyrics

3. Goo Hye Sun, The Blind - 썼다 지웠다 (Written and Erased)

Released: March 2, 2016

This song has such a unique concept! The lyrics tell a story of a blind man attempting to write a letter to confess his feelings for a woman, but he keeps writing and erasing out of nerves. You can even hear the sound of a braille typewriter typing in the background! The singers provide a really nice, easy listen, and you will find yourself dancing along to the flow of the song. It is too cute! ^^

Genre: Pop/Ballad

Album: "Written and Erased" single

Company: Good Neighbor Entertainment

Music Video: n/a, but I will link to a fan made here!

English Lyrics: Lyrics

4. Jimin (of AOA) - 야 하고 싶어 (Call You Bae) ft. Xiumin (of EXO)

Released: March 3, 2016

How cute are Jimin and Xiumin?! Ah, they played a couple so well! :) I do like Jimin's harder hip-hop tracks more like "Puss" and "God", but this song is still really enjoyable and fun to listen to! The video is my favorite part- all the emoji faced extras! Haha It really sounds like a nice summer song though! ^^

Genre: Pop

Album: #OOTD

Company: FNC Entertainment, SM Entertainment

Music Video: "Call You Bae"

English Lyrics: Lyrics

5. 크나큰 KNK (pronounced KeuNaKeun) - Knock

Released: March 3, 2016

I have seen this group all over my Tumblr dashboard! I was actually expecting something harder like a Monsta X feel or something. However, I really like this! It's a great mix between a smooth, slower song, and a dance song. They really get you hyped up when it comes to the chorus and faster parts! It's their anthem! :)

Genre: Dance/Ballad (it's a mix!)

Album: "Knock" debut single

Company: YNB Entertainment

Music Video: "Knock"

English Lyrics: Lyrics

6. ToppDogg - Feel Alive (Come Back Mister OST)

Released: March 3, 2016

This track is for the drama Come Back Mister, which looks hilarious! I will need to start watching that! ^^ The song is upbeat and a bit funky, so it's really fun to dance too! I really like how the video shows funny scenes of the drama, but also ToppDogg just goofing off in a dance studio being themselves. Check this out!

Genre: Dance/OST

Album: "Come Back Mister" OST Pt. 2

Company: Hunus Entertainment

Music Video: "Feel Alive"

English Lyrics: Lyrics

7. Eric Nam x Wendy (of Red Velvet) (SM Station) - 봄인가 봐 (Spring Love)

Released: March 4, 2016

Have I mentioned how much I love SM Stations?! Eric and Wendy make such a cute couple! ^_^ The song is a summery, relaxing track, and their voices sound great together! They both have like calm..I want to say "coffee shop voices" lol like you would see them just chilling playing acoustic guitar singing in a coffee shop gig. lol :) The video is shot like an old home movie or something with them at a carnival!

Genre: Ballad

Album: "Spring Love" single

Company: SM Entertainment

Music Video: "Spring Love"

English Lyrics: Lyrics

8. V.O.S - 같이살자 (Live with me)

Released: March 4, 2016

Powerful voices and such emotion! This track is about a man shyly confessing his love, and it really took my breath away! It's cool to hear all three of the members different voices, and then they sound amazing all together- eargasm! Near the end, they each have powerful long notes that make your jaw drop, and a chorus type of thing in the background which is a nice element to go with the orchestra type music. Great track!

Genre: Ballad

Album: Live with me

Company: Soul Factory

Music Video: n/a, but here is a live performance, and a fan uploaded audio

English Lyrics: n/a, sorry I can't find them! :(

9. Everbrown - 니가 있어 (You Got)

Released: March 4, 2016

At first, I wasn't going to include this in my list, but after I watched the video and was doing other things, I kept singing it in my head and dancing! Haha it is a catchy song! The video is really cute and makes you smile! The members are just hanging out, on the road, performing in the middle of the city and getting food and stuff. :) Plus, they harmonize together soooo well! <3

Genre: Pop

Album: Everbrown 1st Mini Album

Company: D&S Entertainment

Music Video: "You Got"

English Lyrics: n/a, sorry, I can't find them!

10. Billion - 있잖아 (I Have You)

Released: March 7, 2016

To be honest, there's nothing too special about this song..it's just a good, fun song to listen to! I enjoy the beat, singing, and I especially like 제닛 (Janet) the rapper's voice! It's an enjoyable dance track!

Genre: Dance/Pop

Album: I Have You

Company: Move Entertainment

Music Video: no official, but here is an audio, and their dance practice!

English Lyrics: Lyrics

11. Guten Birds - 다를 나를 만나는 날 (Across the Black Tunnel)

Released: March 7, 2016

I was so excited to find more K-rock music! I wish it was more popular internationally, so I could find more. Then, I was hyped when I found it that it's an all female rock group! I feel like you don't see that often in rock in Korea or here! The lead singer's voice is raspy and not very feminine, which I love!! When it comes to a genre like rock, the raspier the better for me, like Janis Joplin! <3 I love this track!

Genre: Rock

Album: "Across the Black Tunnel" single

Company: Coolluck Music

Music Video: no official video, but here is the official audio!

English Lyrics:n/a, sorry, I can't find any! :'(

12. Penomeco - Ma Fam

Released: March 7, 2016

I already know this is going to be my jam! From what I can find, this is one person and um wow! There's smooth singing, which sounds like an American artist...maybe Mike Posner? And then, rapping, but both rap sections sound so different! I really like the bridge rap, because it sounds like he's really putting a lot into it, and the other rap verses have a lot of flow and uniqueness! Penomeco has really impressed me!

Genre: Rap/Hip-Hop

Album: "Ma Fam" single

Company: Stoneship

Music Video: n/a, but here is audio!

English Lyrics: n/a, sorry, I can't find any! :(

13. Kim Yongjin (Bohemian) - 부른다 (Call) (Glamorous Temptation OST)

Released: March 7, 2016

I love Yongjin's voice! There's something about it that is just so smooth yet rough, relaxing, and sexy! ^_~ When he hits higher, longer notes his voice becomes a bit raspy, and as you know, I love raspy voices! ^0^ This song seems incredibly sad, because he conveys emotion so well..but I can't help but smile, I love his voice that much! Also, I looked him up on Google images, and uhh...hold on! Let's just say his voice does not match his adorable face! Haha

Genre: Ballad/Drama

Album: "Call" single

Company: +Plusmedia

Music Video: n/a, but here is an audio!

English Lyrics: n/a, sorry, I can't find any! This upsets me so much! T_T

14. Snuper - 지켜줄게 (Platonic Love)

Released: March 8, 2016

1980s themes and pop music are a big trend right now in K-pop, and Snuper has both the 80s visuals and sound! I love all the neon lights and kind of vintage, faded filter over the video. The music sounds like an 80s electronic keyboard, and the song is so cute and catchy! :) There's a modern switch at the end dance scenes, and those outfits are on point!!

Genre: Dance/Pop

Album: Platonic Love

Company: Widmay

Music Video: "Platonic Love"

English Lyrics: Lyrics

15. Miss $ - 영혼없이 말하지마 (Don't Speak Without Soul)

Released: March 8, 2016

This video is so clever with how they translated the concept of the track's lyrics! ^^ Even though the song talks about a boyfriend who suddenly seems uninterested, the video is really light-hearted and fun! Both girls are definitely talented, and the rapper Jace was on Mnet's show Unpretty Rapstar!

Genre: Pop

Album: "Don't Speak Without Soul" single

Company: Brand New Music

English Lyrics: Lyrics

16. Fiestar - Mirror

Released: March 9, 2016

I love this darker, sexy concept for Fiestar! This entire comeback was so well done- from the video, to the vocals, to the dance, visuals, everything! :) I like that it's still an upbeat K-pop song, but it's more chill and has emotion. The members all look gorgeous, and the outfits were so delicately beautiful! See what I did there? Their album is "A Delicate Sense"

..yeah..anyways ^_~ Check it out!

Genre: Pop/Dance

Album: A Delicate Sense

Company: Loen Entertainment

Music Video: "Mirror"

English Lyrics: Lyrics

17. Lee Hi - 한숨 (Breathe)

Released: March 9, 2016

Lee Hi looks so gorgeous with her now dark hair, she looks so grown up! This video was shot beautifully, and Lee Hi continues to amaze me with her angelic voice beyond her years! This video/track got me all emotionally from her voice and the people they showed. I have been under huge amounts of stress lately, so this song really got to me. I had to look up the lyrics right away, and just beautiful! Of course, this was written by SHINee's Jonghyun, he is so talented and never fails to comfort me! :)

Genre: Ballad

Album: Seoulite

Company: YG Entertainment

Music Video: "Breathe"

English Lyrics: Lyrics

18.JJCC - 오늘 한번 (ToDay)

Released: March 9, 2016

This video is so light-hearted and fun! You can tell the boys had a great time shooting this! :) I like the concept of a web comic, what a neat idea! I wish this group was more well known! The song is so catchy and will put you in a happy mood~^^

Genre: Pop

Album: "ToDay" single

Company: Jackie Chan Group Korea

Music Video: "ToDay"

English Lyrics: Lyrics

19. Ravi (of VIXX) - R.EBIRTH

Released: March 12, 2016

I love Ravi's voice!! This track is like one continuous flow, and he delivers this song so powerfully! I will definitely be listening to the entire mixtape! I also like how even though he's in a K-pop idol group, you wouldn't know it from this track. He must have worked so hard on this, and it paid off! He is a true rapper! :)

Genre: Rap/Hip-hop

Album: R.EBIRTH mixtape

Company: Jellyfish Entertainment

Music Video: n/a, but here is an audio!

English Lyrics: Lyrics

20. Jessi - 살찐 사랑 (Excessive Love)

Released: March 12, 2016

Bow down to Jessi, she killed it! <3 She is seriously so gorgeous it's ridiculous, and she is crazy talented with both rapping and singing! I do like her harder rap songs a little bit more, because I adore female rappers, but it's great that people can see that she can really sing too! I love it when she sings and brings out her deeper voice- perfection! Also, from this video, I kind of want to see her act in the future. :)

Genre: Ballad/Hip-Hop

Album: "Excessive Love" single

Company: YMC Entertainment

Music Video: "Excessive Love"

English Lyrics: Lyrics

21. HanHae (of Phantom) - 내가 이래 (I Used To)

Released: March 16, 2016

I have found one of my favorite for this month! HanHae is brilliant! <3 His rapping is so smooth, but he delivers with such power. The lyrics of this track are like a story, and they are full of the hard, cruel truth. Which honestly, like HanHae gets me lol this is definitely me sometimes haha! The video is amazing with all the lights and bright neon colors- t's such a cool video! The female dancer is a boss! ..and HanHae is definitely not bad to look at..ehm... ;) All around perfection!

Genre: Rap/Hip-Hop

Album: "I Used To" single

Company: Brand New Music

Music Video: "I Used To"

English Lyrics: Lyrics

That's all for now, stayed tuned for Part 2 next week! :)

Which track and which music video are your favorites? Let me know in the comments section! Also, if you have a favorite release from a group this past month- who's your bias in that group? Was there a comeback you weren't expecting, or were really excited to see? Did I leave out your favorite release? Let me know what it is, and why it's your favorite! ^^ Let me know your thoughts and opinions in the comments section!

Thanks for reading!

xoxo~ Ashley

Welcome! I'm Ashley~ 

Learn more about the creator, me here...

Click on my name or artist/song title above to open my Soundcloud playlist for all tracks!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page