top of page

Ashley Recommends - March 2016 K-Music Releases Part 2

I'm back for round 2 of my March recommendations! ^0^ I hope you find some new music to listen to and enjoy! We're leaving behind the depressing winter moods with sad ballads, and moving to hopeful Spring where love is in the air! This time, I will be going through the March 17-31 releases! There were a lot of releases at the beginning of the month, so I had to shorten that list with the number of days I reviewed, and extend this one..I hope it doesn't get too long! ^_~ Let's enjoy some music, shall we?

1. Hyomin (of T-ARA) - Sketch

Released: March 17, 2016

Right off the bat, this video and track are so much more mature than her last single "Nice Body". Don't get me wrong, I love that song, but this one is more grown up sexy. Like classy sexy, but still this was really scandalous and suggestive! Haha I mean she sings, "I'll be your canvas. You draw me all night long"...whoa. lol I feel that her vocals have improved as well, and she is really coming into her own as a solo artist! Also, she must be taking cues from Jay Park, because this was definitely a sweet love music song! The video is crazy sexy, but again mature. Lots of eye candy too! ;)

Genre: Pop/R&B (..maybe? lol idk it's got that feel for me, real smooth^^)

Album: Sketch

Company: MBK Entertainment

Music Video: "Sketch"

English Lyrics: Lyrics

2. Hyomin (of T-ARA) - Gold

Released: March 17, 2016

I'm so glad, Hyomin released this as a single too! I wish there was a video too, because I think I love this track more than "Sketch" actually! From the very beginning it had me hooked with that beat! I tried forever to figure what kind of genre and a Western artist to compare to, but I don't know lol It's like chill synth pop indie electronic..ah like something a really cool hipster girl would listen to, and you have never heard of any of the artists! Haha It's really relaxing and uplifting. I like to see this different side of Hyomin, because she is always sexy..which I'm totally fine with but it's cool to see her change it up! :)

Genre: Pop (but also what I mentioned above lol)

Album: Sketch

Company: MBK Entertainment

Music Video: n/a, but here is an audio!

English Lyrics: Lyrics

3. Red Velvet - 7월 7일 (One Of These Nights)

Released: March 17, 2016

This is such a cool, artistic video with great transitions and effects! There's got to be symbolism throughout this video, but I have no idea what it is lol I wish I could find a site or blog that is dedicated to analyzing meanings in K-pop videos. Haha! I actually love their ballads a bit more than their upbeat music. Tracks like this, and "Automatic" among others really showcase their vocal talent, and are so smooth.

Genre: Ballad/Pop

Album: The Velvet

Company: SM Entertainment

English Lyrics: Lyrics

4. Ailee - 사랑이니까 (Because It's Love) (Come Back Mister OST)

Released: March 17, 2016

Ailee never disappoints, her voice is heaven! I do like that this is such a simple song, but for Ailee, she has such a powerful voice (Korean Beyonce!) that she should show it off! :) Also, I found out Lee Minjung is in this drama, so now I'm even more excited to watch it! She's my favorite!! All around beautiful song!

Genre: Ballad/Drama

Album: Come Back Mister OST Pt. 4

Company: YMC Entertainment

Music Video: "Because It's Love"

English Lyrics: Lyrics

5. Heritage x Jonghyun (of SHINee) - 한마디 (Your Voice) (SM Station)

Released: March 18, 2016

This track was jointly written by Heritage and Kim Jonghyun, so of course I'm going to love it! Jonghyun's composing skills are amazing! Their voices are so unique too. Even though I know Jonghyun's voice, it's a bit different here, maybe a bit deeper? I really like it though, their voices match the song perfectly. I wish they had a full music video for this- they only have a kind of teaser. Also, I think a trumpet, sax, or something would really sound cool with this track!

Genre: R&B/Soul/Ballad

Album: "Your Voice" single

Company: SM Entertainment

Music Video: n/a, but here is an amazing fan video!

English Lyrics: Lyrics

6. Make Some Noise - 24 Hours (from Produce 101)

Released: March 19, 2016

Yes! Korean electronic music that I can actually find on Youtube! lol This song is a full on dancing at the club track! I do feel though that sometimes their voices sound a little too sweet for this kind of track. However, the DJ does an amazing job in this...plus he's not bad on the eyes! ;) Overall, I really like this! These next few songs are from a show called Produce 101 that is kind of like Show Me The Money or Unpretty Rapstar. It's such a neat concept- 35 girls, 5 concepts, and then they bring in producers and it's like a competition show.

Genre: Dance/Electronica

Album: Produce 101 - 35 Girls 5 Concepts

Company: CJ E&M

Music Video: n/a, but here is the performance from the show with English subs!

English Lyrics: audio video with English lyrics!

7. Hualyeogangsan - Don't Matter (from Produce 101)

Released: March 19, 2016

Another group from Produce 101, this song is labeled on Wikipedia as electronica, but it's more just straight k-pop. lol It's super catchy and enjoyable though! It was also produced by my love San E! :) It is a bit unique, because they like mashup different sounds of music so it's memorable, a bit weird, but really cool!

Genre: Pop

Album: Produce 101 - 35 Girls 5 Concepts

Company: CJ E&M

Music Video: n/a, but here is their performance!

English Lyrics: audio video with English lyrics!

8. Macaroon Honey Dduk - 얌얌 (Yum Yum) (from Produce 101)

Released: March 19, 2016

This one has some electronic vibes, but it's more of a pop dance song in my opinion. It's so addicting though! I really love the rapping! There's some cool effects in the song, and the chorus is so catchy. I don't think these groups are really trained yet, and they are new, so I definitely see potential for greater songs in the future! I do really like this song though! Genre: Dance/Pop

Album: Produce 101 - 35 Girls 5 Concepts

Company: CJ E&M

Music Video: n/a, but here is their performance with English subtitles! :)

English Lyrics: audio video with English lyrics!

9. GOT7 - Fly

Released: March 21, 2016

This wasn't what I expected from GOT7, but I'm pleasantly surprised! ^^ It's got a more R&B hip-hop feel, which is awesome! It's cool and refreshing to hear them change up their sound! The rapping was my favorite part! I liked that they added in some behind the scenes, but it felt a little random since it was only like 5 seconds..lol It would have been nice to see more throughout the video.

Genre: Pop/some R&B vibes?

Album: Flight Log: Departure

Company: JYP Entertainment

Music Video: "Fly"

English Lyrics: Lyrics

10. Lip Service - 이슬만먹고살아 (Hello)

Released: March 22, 2016

Yeeees EDM!! ^0^ I have waited so long for Lip Service to come back! This video is nice and simple, so it really shows off how beautiful the girls are, and all the focus is on them! It also switches to party scenes, which makes perfect sense with the music genre. I have no idea why they're so underrated, they've definitely got both great vocals and rap! I like how it's pretty chill until the chorus kicks in, but maybe next time a full dance track that goes hard? :)

Genre: EDM/Dance/Pop

Album: Hello

Company: Chorok Entertainment

Music Video: "Hello"

English Lyrics: n/a, sorry, I can't find any!

11. Vernon (of Seventeen) - 병 (Sickness) ft. Pledis Girlz (Love Revolution OST)

Released: March 23, 2016

I love it when rap is paired with a ballad or slower song! Vernon really impresses me. He's so young, but he's got great control and flow with his rapping! Eunwoo from Pledis Girlz is featured here, and her voice is great! You get emotion from her voice, and it fits well with a ballad. This song is a great mix of upbeat and ballad!

Genre: Ballad/Drama

Album: Love Revolution OST

Company: Pledis Entertainment

Music Video: n/a, but here is an audio!

English Lyrics: Lyrics

12. Eric Nam - Good For You

Released: March 23, 2016

I feel like Eric Nam's videos always have interesting, unique stories that I never forget! I'm so happy he's back with another album! This track is one of my favorites this month. It's chill, jazzy, romantic, and sexy. He's got that calming, cafe voice that I talked about in my last K-Music post! The video is so artsy and you really contemplate the story. Eric is a radio DJ that comforts a man and woman who are each going through their own struggles. The track is really romantic and sweet! Eric is telling his crush that he is good for her and will treat her right, aww! :) From this track, I really want to see Eric do sexy R&B!!

Genre: Ballad/Pop/R&B

Album: Interview

Company: CJ E&M

Music Video: "Good For You" (There's also an English version!)

English Lyrics: Lyrics

13. Eric Nam - Interview

Released: March 24, 2016

Eric Nam should definitely be more popular, his voice is amazing! This video has such a cool concept. Eric is interviewer whose got a crush on the girl he is interviewing! Does this come from personal experience? ;) The video is so aesthetically pleasing and creative! It's more of a lyrics video, and the lyrics appear in a bunch of different ways- on things you wouldn't expect. This song is so catchy and cheerful! :)

Genre: Ballad/Pop

Album: Interview

Company: CJ E&M

Music Video: "Interview"

English Lyrics: Lyrics

14. A.Cian - 손이가요 (Touch)

Released: March 24, 2016

The video has such a cute concept of the boys all fighting to get to Rapunzel! I think she rejects them though? lol Both the track and video are bright and super K-popesque. The video reminds me of GOT7's "Just Right", and the sets are awesome! I always fall for the rapper and their parts, so that's my favorite! :) This song is very K-pop, and it makes me want to check out more of this group!

Genre: Pop

Album: Addicting

Company: Mono Music Korea

Music Video: "Touch"

English Lyrics: Lyrics

15. DEAN - Bonnie & Clyde

Released: March 22, 2016

I don't know why this is out of order on Wikipedia..oh well! lol I fangirled so hard, like Dean is a force to be reckoned with! This song is amazing, he crushed it! It's a smooth and sexy track, but it's not just R&B- it's a more upbeat R&B trapsoul kind of sound! It's so cool, and he is super talented! The video is sexy, but quite dark. Here's what I've gathered: Dean is in a turbulent/passionate relationship. He is the boyfriend of the girl. But then, he is also a different guy that the girl has a fling with (Clyde I'm assuming). Clyde has a problem with Dean, and it gets gruesome. lol Bonnie & Clyde theme is nothing new, but Dean gives it a twist with the effects and images in the video, and the love triangle kind of thing.

Genre: R&B/Trapsoul

Album: 130 mood: TRBL

Company: Joombas Co. Ltd., Universal

Music Video: "Bonnie & Clyde"

English Lyrics: Lyrics

16. Amber (of f(x) ) - Borders (SM Station)

Released: March 25, 2016

I love SM Station! This song is all in English, as Amber was born and lived in the U.S.! I love to hear her rapping against more simple music. The track gets more upbeat when she gets to the chorus and sings, but then it goes back down. It's a really nice progression and mix! The video show real, important issues and sicknesses like depression and eating disorders. But Amber's track provides an uplifting, inspiring message- to accept and love yourself, you are strong and can overcome this. It got me all teary eyed. Plus, I never knew Amber could sing so well, this track definitely shows off her vocal abilities! A favorite!!

Genre: Pop/Ballad/it's a mix lol

Album: "Borders" single

Company: SM Entertainment

Music Video: "Borders"

English Lyrics: Lyrics, but it's all in English! Woohoo!! ;)

17. BTOB - 봄날의 기억 (Remember That)

Released: March 28, 2016

I love that this shows a more serious, emotional, mature side to BTOB. They make great dance tracks, but this is so beautiful and it shows off their strong voices. The video is about remembering a past relationship, remembering the happy times, and moving on. It's a very sweet sad song! lol I love it!

Genre: Ballad

Album: Remember That

Company: Cube Entertainment

Music Video: "Remember That"

English Lyrics: Lyrics

18. Jun Hyosung - 나를 찾아줘 (Find Me) ft. D.Action of Untouchable

Released: March 28, 2016

This track is so well done! It's got great progression and producing! It's a dance song, but the verses are a bit slower, and it builds up to the chorus each time where it gets really upbeat. The chorus is so catchy! They didn't put the feature in the title, so I had to search, and the rapper is D.Action from Untouchable under the same label. I love all of Hyosung's outfits in the video, she's so gorgeous! I don't know how she does it, but she manages being super sexy and super elegant at the same time! lol This is a great solo comeback!

Genre: Dance

Album: Colored

Company: TS Entertainment

Music Video: "Find Me"

English Lyrics: Lyrics

19. Day6 - 놓아 놓아 놓아 (Letting Go)

Released: March 30, 2016

I love the acapella "ah"'s in the beginning! I'm a sucker for acapella..they should released an acapella version of this! YES. You don't often see K-pop bands, where they actually play instruments, so this is so cool to see! :) They can all sing, and they all have beautiful voices! The track makes me think of the old Royal Pirates- pop rock! I love that the video has some effects, but the focus is on the guys and purely their talent- there's no gimmicks or anything! It's actually a really sad song about letting go of your love so they can be happy. The lyrics are so sad, but beautiful!

Genre: Pop/Rock

Album: Daydream

Company: JYP Entertainment

Music Video: "Letting Go"

English Lyrics: Lyrics

20. Boys Republic - Get Down

Released: March 30, 2016

Whoa. This video is really cool, and unexpected in K-pop! They had blood and a severed head. A SEVERED HEAD. Whoa. lol This would actually make a really cool like full production story/drama video..like TVXQ!'s "Before U Go". It's such a dark concept, and the song is so catchy- you'll be dancing! I think there should have been harder beats to fit the concept more. It really only got that way during the chorus. It's a great listen and watch though! The video is so interesting, and there's sexy dancing... ;)

Genre: Dance

Album: BR:evolution

Company: Happy Tribe Entertainment

Music Video: "Get Down"

English Lyrics: Lyrics

21. N-Sonic - Excalibur

Released: March 30, 2016

This is another unexpected release! I have like one N-Sonic song on my playlist (I believe it's their debut), but it's so different from this! It's another kind of dark concept. Right away I was hooked though, because there's a powerful drum beat that is banging right from the beginning! The song is like a rock meets electronic, punky glam-rock. lol The chanting during the chorus is really catchy and cool, like a tribal or soccer chant haha! The dance also has tribal feels, but I wish they would have went harder with the dance to match the track. There is both a dance performance video and a drama version video, and I love that the drama version is a full on story- no cuts to closeups or dancing, so you really get immersed! Falsettos and raps are amazing on this track. Kudos N-Sonic, I want more!

Genre: Dance

Album: "Excalibur" single

Company: C2K Entertainment

English Lyrics: Lyrics

Which track and which music video are your favorites? Let me know in the comments section! Also, if you have a favorite release from a group this past month- who's your bias in that group? Was there a comeback you weren't expecting, or were really excited to see? Did I leave out your favorite release? Let me know what it is, and why it's your favorite! ^^ Let me know your thoughts and opinions in the comments section!

Thanks for reading!

xoxo~ Ashley

Welcome! I'm Ashley~ 

Learn more about the creator, me here...

Click on my name or artist/song title above to open my Soundcloud playlist for all tracks!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page