top of page

Ashley Recommends - April 2016 K-Music Releases Part 2

I'm back, and I'm really excited for this K-music post! ^0^ There are so many different genres in this recommendation list- from rap/hip-hop, to K-pop, to even rock! I'm always so excited to find Korean rock music, because it's unfortunately really hard to find on Youtube for international fans. But..I found some and they really rock..one is even quite surprising coming from this certain huge entertainment company.. Stay tuned to find out more about this and more hidden gems! Let's get it started! :)

1. Heize - 돌아오지마 (Don't Come Back) ft. Mong Junhyung (Beast)

Released: April 14, 2016

This is a really lovely, chill song, but it's actually a rainy day sad song. You can tell the emotion from Heize's voice. The lyrics describe Heize telling her ex that while she regrets and misses him terribly, he deserves to be with someone better and he should just forget her. :( I love female rappers, and that's what I know Heize as- a rapper, so it surprised me that she also has great singing ability too! Junhyung fits in this song so perfectly, I love his effortless, lazy rap voice- very sexy! ;) lol

Genre: Ballad, Rap/Hip-Hop, R&B

Album: "Don't Come Back" single

Company: MNET Media

Music Video: n/a, but here is a fan uploaded audio, and a live performance!

English Lyrics: Lyrics

2. Up10tion - 나한테만 집중해 (Attention)

Released: April 18, 2016

At first, I was expecting something a lot harder like their "So, Dangerous" debut track, but this is really catchy too! It's a light, feel good song for Spring, and has a sweeter vibe to it. The dance is the main focus of the video, and it is awesome! Since there are many members, it's cool to hear all their different sounding voices together. ^^ It's definitely a great, quality track!

Genre: Pop, Dance

Album: Spotlight

Company: TOP Media

Music Video: Attention

English Lyrics: Lyrics

3. VIXX - Dynamite

Released: April 19, 2016

I love the beat and music to this track- it's so funky and like 80s sounding! ^^ I knew I was going to love it right away with Ravi starting the song off with his deep, sexy rap intro. ;) The video has that vintage neon lights filter..I don't know what it's called lol but it works! I always feel like they have the most incredibly creative dances, so I love that the dance is a main focus in the video. I usually like their darker concepts better, but VIXX is so talented that they can pull off both extremes perfectly! <3

Genre: Dance, Pop

Album: Zelos

Company: Jellyfish Entertainment

Music Video: Dynamite

English Lyrics: Lyrics

4. Lee Hi - My Star

Released: April 20, 2016

Lee Hi's voice is insane, she's so talented and so young! She's so elegant and mature. <3 The video is so cute, and keeps you entertained the whole time with the change in sets and funny scenes. It has a vintage 60s feel, which Lee Hi does so well. I love all the clothes!! Both the video and song are sweet and perfect for Spring. All the pastel colors and sets are bright and visually pleasing! I'm so happy she finally has a comeback and new album!

Genre: Pop, Jazz, R&B

Album: Seoulite

Company: YG Entertainment

Music Video: My Star

English Lyrics: Lyrics

5. Bizzy - 검은머리 파뿌리 (All I Need) ft. Bumzu

Released: April 20, 2016

I love that this is a mix of complimentary genres, rap/hip-hop, R&B, and then it's also a bit funky! Bizzy has a deep, kind of raspy rap voice, so I'm pretty obsessed. ;) The video has lots of cool effects and lights, and Tasha and Tiger JK make cameos! YES!! I am left wondering if there is more of a story here, like what was the ending? Hmm.. Bizzy really does deserve more attention and recognition though- legend! I've never heard of Bumzu, but he's definitely a talented, smooth R&B singer! "Bizzy, Bizzy, Bizzy can't you see? Somehow your words just hypnotize me!" :)

Genre: Rap/Hip-Hop, R&B

Album: "All I Need" single

Company: Feel Ghood Music

Music Video: All I Need

English Lyrics: Lyrics

6. Vibe - 1년 365일 (1 Year, 365 Days) ft. Gummy

Released: April 21, 2016

This is a track that gives you goosebumps it's so beautiful, but sounds and is so heart wrenching. The vocals are so emotional and just WOW. The video is so unique and creative..but also sad. lol I thought it was really interesting how they showed that the couple wasn't together anymore. There was a part where the man was taking cute pictures of the woman with a vintage camera, but when he looked up, she was no longer there..and then you'd see her again as he went back to the camera. There's just so many things (that ending! ;;), so watch the video! This is just so well done in every aspect, and also be sure to check out their song "Raining"!

Genre: Ballad

Album: Repeat

Company: The Vibe Entertainment

Music Video: 1 Year, 365 Days

English Lyrics: Lyrics

7. Kevin (ZE:A) - Collection ft. Jucy

Released: April 21, 2016

This song is so sexy, and I'm dying for a video- there needs to be a video!! Also, YES to a female rap featuring from Jucy who was a member of EvoL (now disbanded ;;)! I would really like to see more from Kevin, like full on R&B sweet love music with some great K-hiphop artists! He has such a classy feel about him, and I think with a slower song his voice would be so sexy and soothing. ^^ He hits some incredible high notes in this song, and I love the beat!

Genre: Pop

Album: "Collection" single

Company: Star Empire Entertainment

Music Video: n/a :'( but here is a fan uploaded audio!

English Lyrics: Lyrics

8. Cando- 썸유도 공원 (Someyudo Park) ft. Daeun (2EYES)

Released: April 22, 2016

This video is so funny! Cando got a text from another girl, so throughout the video Daeun is upset and giving him the cold shoulder as Cando tries to make it up to her! lol I love the twist at the end! Both the video and song are really cute as well, and their sweet voices mesh so well together. I want to know more about Cando- he's so talented and cute! ^^ This is just a light hearted track full of sweetness! :)

Genre: Pop

Album: "Someyudo Park" single

Company: Yeah1 Music, Sidus HQ

Music Video: Someyudo Park

English Lyrics: n/a, sorry I can't find any! :(

9. Kim Bumsoo x Kenzie - 서툰 시 (Pain Poem) (SM Station)

Released: April 22, 2016

After that sweet, fun song, I got to hit you with another beautiful, heartbreaking sad song..but Bumsoo's emotional voice makes up for it! lol ;p This is another song and video that brought tears to my eyes, but it is so amazing! The video is very simple, majority of the time is a man running with all his might down a long country road, but you can't look away! The whole time you're thinking what is he running to or from? And then BAM everything comes together and tears flow like mad. lol One part left me confused though, why did he keep looking at his watch? After reading some comments on this video, I agree, this track sounds like a Latin song!

Genre: Ballad

Album: "Pain Poem" single

Company: SM Entertainment

Music Video: Pain Poem

English Lyrics: Lyrics

10. Seventeen - 예쁘다 (Pretty U)

Released: April 25, 2016

Okay, now we all need a joyful, sweet song after that! Seventeen delivers with a summery sounding song with a party video! Overall, this seems the month for lighthearted, feel good songs! Seventeen's video is so much fun as it shows the guys running around getting ready for a big warehouse party, and I want to go to that party- they have everything! lol It's a great K-pop song, and Seventeen continues to slay! ^^

Genre: Pop, Dance

Album: Love Letter

Company: Pledis Entertainment

Music Video: Pretty U

English Lyrics: Lyrics

11. Twice - Cheer Up

Released: April 25, 2016

Here's Twice to cheer you up even more with their catchy, addicting song "Cheer Up"! I'm in love with this video so much and the song instantly gets stuck in your head, so this is another fave of the month! ^^ I love all the scenes in the video with each member dressed up as a different character like Sailor Moon, cowgirl, and traditional Korean woman in a hanbok! It's a cool concept of a man with a camera for a face lol but when he adds "filters" or something the girls turn from being annoyed and bored, to all their different styles and cheered up! Plus, the ending is really funny! ^^ I'm so impressed with this comeback, and I'm becoming a fan more and more of Twice. So much so, that I've already bought and received this album to support them during their music show promotions! ^0^ Go watch the video and be cheered up! :)

Genre: Pop, Dance

Album: Page Two

Company: JYP Entertainment

Music Video: Cheer Up

English Lyrics: Lyrics

12. Lovelyz - 나의 지구 (Destiny)

Released: April 25, 2016

This song starts out so powerful, and keeps strong and catchy throughout! It's really pure K-pop goodness! <3 I feel like it could be an anime opening though and others were reminded of Sailor Moon. The video is so aesthetically pleasing with and awesome dance room and cool camera work. It's a quality track that deserves love! I haven't really listened to too much Lovelyz, but I might have to look more into them now, because this is a great song! :)

Genre: Dance, Pop

Album: A New Trilogy

Company: Woollim Entertainment

Music Video: Destiny

English Lyrics: Lyrics

13. Mighty Mouth - Nice 2 Meet U ft. Soya

Released: April 26, 2016

I'm so pumped that Mighty Mouth is back!! ^0^ They are so ridiculous and hilarious, and this video definitely lives up to that! lol It's so much fun and there are so many cameos. I also really love hearing and seeing Soya with them again as the first song I heard by them was "Bad Boy" with Soya and I fell in love with them. :) This song will be on repeat, and it will both the song and video will put a huge grin on your face for sure!

Genre: Rap/Hip-Hop

Album: "Nice 2 Meet U" single

Company: AllMighty Records

Music Video: Nice 2 Meet U

English Lyrics: Lyrics

14. O'NUT - Drive

Released: April 26, 2016

Okay so this video is really, really strange lol but it's completely amazing! The beat sounds like a Michael Jackson song in my opinion, and O'NUT has a really unique, cool voice. I can't make sense of the video lol It's so weird with effects and the story, which makes it really intriguing and memorable! So, there's an apple shown a lot and the girl bites into the apple- Eve/temptation? After she does that, the next scene shows her wearing more sexy clothing and she's dancing around..but then she sneaks back into bed at the end to boyfriend..I'm not really sure. lol But I want more of O'NUT! ^^

Genre: R&B, Soul

Album: Drive 2 U'Nivas

Company: MINDUS

Music Video: Drive (see if you figure it out..haha!)

English Lyrics: n/a, I was hoping to find lyrics to try to make more sense of this lol

15. Already Free - Wait For The Moment

Released: April 27, 2016

This is why I love doing these recommendation posts, I would have never found this song/artist otherwise! I love exploring other genres outside of K-pop within K-music, and this is amazing! This group is incredibly talented, and the singer has that raspy kind of voice I love- it works perfectly for rock music! :) Also, I love that this sounds similar to the classic rock I love and grew up on! By the way, I HAVE to show this to my dad, I'm always trying to get him more into K-music! :) lol The guitar riff is so catchy, and everything is so well done! Fantastic music!!

Genre: Rock

Album: "Wait For The Moment" single

Company: Already Free

Music Video: n/a, but here is the official audio!

English Lyrics: n/a, sorry I can't find any! :(

16. San E x Chancellor - 안주거리 (Dish)

Released: April 28, 2016

This is another track I desperately need a video for! San E is love and I need to see his beautiful face!! haha ;) The song is more chill and really smooth. I love San E's relaxed, chill rap! Chancellor has that perfect sexy, smooth R&B voice so this is a really nice, easy listen. While listening, I closed my eyes, swayed to the music, listened, and felt happy. ^^ I wish I could understand Korean..I want to know what this song is about! lol It's a wonderful song! :)

Genre: Rap/Hip-Hop, R&B

Album: "Dish" single

Company: n/a

Music Video: n/a, but here is a fan uploaded audio!

English Lyrics: n/a, sorry I can't find any and it really upsets me.. :'( lol

17. Babylon - 비 오는 거리 (Rainy Street) ft. HA:TFELT (Yenny of Wonder Girls)

Released: April 28, 2016

Babylon's voice straight from the beginning and all the way through will make your jaw drop and cause a major eargasm. He is the definition of sexy R&B vocals! lol His high notes are just like I don't even know, WOW. Yenny fits in perfectly with the R&B genre- such a chill, rich voice. This track is just all around sexy, effortless, and cool. lol It's lazy sexy! haha I don't know, that's how I'm going to describe it! ;p They are both so talented!

Genre: R&B

Album: "Rainy Street" single

Company: Max Mind Music

Music Video: n/a, but here is a fan uploaded audio!

English Lyrics: n/a, sorry I can't find any! ;;

18. Hwang Insun - Emoticon

Released: April 28, 2016

This is so catchy, I will be singing it all the time! lol Both the song and video are bright, refreshing, and cheery. The video is pretty funny, and it's cool that parts are like an old video game! The other sets are gorgeous, especially the one at Gyeonggi English Village! Insun is actually from the Produce 101 show, so I'm excited to see her release an official video and song on her own! :) This song is so cute and perfect for K-pop lovers! ^^

Genre: Pop, Dance

Album: Emoticon

Company: Show Works

Music Video: Emoticon

English Lyrics: n/a, sorry I can't find any! :(

19. No Brain - 내 가죽잠바 (My Leather Jacket)

Released: April 28, 2016

Switching gears back to rock, this is another fave of the month lol I have so many this time! ^^ I'm so happy I found No Brain, and can't wait to listen to more! The vocalist has like a raspy punk rock kind of voice, and this whole band rocks! The beat is great and the production was done so well. I find the video to be funny, but I don't think it's supposed to be..haha! It's just that the girl in the video wants the main guy (bassist in band) so desperately bad! lol But I mean who can blame here, he's a pretty handsome ahjussi (older man)! Haha! ;)

Genre: Rock

Album: Brainless

Company: Roxta Music & Live

Music Video: My Leather Jacket

English Lyrics: n/a, I can't find any and it really upsets me. lol

20. Kim Wansun - Use Me ft. Ravi (VIXX)

Released: April 29, 2016

I love this so much, it's a great dance track and I will be using it when I'm getting ready to go out with some girlfriends! ^^ The song is fun, upbeat, and really catchy. I guess the actual video won't be released until May 1, but the audio has been released. However, I can only find live performances, so since Ravi is promoting with VIXX right now the rapper is now Nok.A. I can't wait to hear Ravi on the track though- his deep voice! <3 I love that she is going against the norm and pushing boundaries in Korea by using cross dressing dancers, who are so fantastic! They are from a new gender-fluid Korean dance group called Pinky Cheeks! From what I've read Wansun is known as the Korean Madonna, which I totally get. She's also older, but she still kills it and is beautiful! :)

Genre: Dance, Pop

Album: "Use Me" single

Company: DNI Works

Music Video: n/a, but here and here are live performances!

English Lyrics: n/a, sorry I can't find any! :(

21. CocoSori - 절묘해 (Exquisite!)

Released: April 29, 2016

I am in love with their cute, weird, crazy style! This is another video that makes absolutely no sense haha but it's awesome in every way! The insanity is it's charm! lol ^^ They are like a mix of Orange Caramel and Kyary Pamyu Pamyu! <3 It's a really fun song, and the video is very entertaining. I really love the breaks of metal music- it's unbelievably cool to see in a K-pop song! I really hope CocoSori sticks around and rises to the top!

Genre: Dance, Pop

Album: Exquisite!

Company: Mole Entertainment

Music Video: Exquisite!

English Lyrics:n/a, sorry I can't find any..I'm just as curious as you are. :( lol

22. Inlayer - Mindjack (SM Station)

Released: April 29, 2016

Remember that I said an entertainment company really shocked me this month? Here it is! This is actually an SM Station from SM Entertainment, the mega lord of K-pop entertainment companies. They released this Station that is a full instrumental, mind-blowing rock/metal track. Can you believe? This is the company of Girls' Generation, Super Junior, SHINee, and the like. So whaaaat? haha but this is awesome! Okay, it's another favorite of the month! :) I love that SM is expanding their musical genres and experimenting, probably the only thing they are doing right..lol I hope there is more like this to come! Inlayer is incredibly talented- watch the video to see how fast and how intricately some of the guys play guitar! Holy cow! The video is so cool with lots of flashing lights and at one point the band is wearing glow in the dark neon painted masks (see picture). It's really like a hypnotizing musical journey! lol I love it!! ^0^

Genre: Rock

Album: "Mindjack" single

Company: SM Entertainment

Music Video: Mindjack

English Lyrics: n/a, no lyrics, it's all impressively done instrumental!

Honorable mentions: JeA (Brown Eyed Girls) - Bad Girl ft. Jung Yup, Eunji (Apink) - Hopefully Sky ft. Hareem, Yesung (Super Junior) - Here I Am, Kim Woojoo - Crying Out Love, Junhyung (Beast) & Davii - After This Moment, Yang Da II - She Didn't Love Me, Loptimist - Che Bella

Which track and which music video are your favorites? Let me know in the comments section! Also, if you have a favorite release from a group this past month- who's your bias in that group? Was there a comeback you weren't expecting, or were really excited to see? Did I leave out your favorite release? Let me know what it is, and why it's your favorite! ^^ Let me know your thoughts and opinions in the comments section!

Thanks for reading! *currently listening to "Youth" by Kim Feel ft. Kim Changwan (Reply 1988 OST)

xoxo~ Ashley

Welcome! I'm Ashley~ 

Learn more about the creator, me here...

Click on my name or artist/song title above to open my Soundcloud playlist for all tracks!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page